Skip to content

The Pink Balloon

March 8, 2008

>“As the lily among the thorns, as is my darling among the daughters.” Song of Solomon 2:2

Yesterday was Lilly’s funeral. It was the hardest day of my life. I just have so much pain for Richard and Jennifer and what they are going through; I hate to see them suffer so much. I am proud of them for how strong they are… a strength that can only come from up above.

The service was perfect. Beautiful songs were sung and touching words were spoken. I am especially proud of Mandy and Chelsi, Lilly’s aunts, for their courage as they shared with everyone about Lilly’s life. She was truly a blessing to us all.

At the end of the graveside service, the family did a balloon release in honor of sweet Lilly. All but one balloon floated quickly in the sky. The one that remained tossed around in the wind and found itself stuck in a tree overlooking the grave site where Lilly now lays. A few moments later, it too drifted into the sky. I don’t know who’s balloon that was. I like to think it was Jennifer’s, hovering over her daughter just a little while longer than everyone else, but then finally letting go, knowing that she is in even better hands now.

Jennifer is an amazing mother. I can only pray that I do as good a job with Chloe as she did with Lilly. I am truly blessed to have such an wonderful best friend. I am thankful that I will be here to help her walk through this awful time.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2008 9:01 am

    >I know the day was hard for you, and will be for a while, but I also know that Jennifer must be so very grateful for a friend like you. May God bless you and strengthen you as you continue to minister to her. In the love of Christ, Sharon

  2. March 8, 2008 9:06 am

    >Beautiful.

  3. March 8, 2008 7:32 pm

    >I was reading Amanda’s blog the other day and this story just broke my heart. I can’t even imagine.Please know that people are praying. He will see them through.Valerie

  4. March 9, 2008 8:42 am

    >Oh Sherry. I love you and I’m praying for you. We will get through these trials by the grace of our Lord.

  5. March 9, 2008 9:45 pm

    >Sherry,Congratulations! You baby is beautiful. I am so sad to hear about Jennifer’s baby. I can’t stop crying, and I don’t want to put my little girl down.Jessica White

  6. March 9, 2008 10:51 pm

    >I am so sorry for all of you and have been thinking and praying often.

  7. March 11, 2008 5:00 am

    >You’re on my mind tonight, so I wanted to let you know that I’m praying for you!

I love comments!

