Skip to content

All good things must come to an end….

June 4, 2008

Well I can’t believe this day is finally here. Man, five years sure has flown by. I can remember sitting in the Atmos audit room and I get the call from the dealer (side note this audit room could be also described as a storm cellar, tornado room, bomb shelter, etc… you feel like if the President was in Dallas and he needed a shelter to hide, this would be where he would go…. RT knows what i’m talking about).

A few weeks before, Sherry and I had gone to the dealership and I put myself on The Waiting List for an Infiniti G35 Coupe. I was told I had a 2 to 3 month wait… that suddenly turned in to a couple of weeks. It turns out a guy at the top of the list didn’t like the finished product and I was next in line. I was told “If you want it you need to come and get it tonight, or I will call the next person in line.” So there we went that night, Sherry and I, about to make our biggest decision as a married couple.

At the time the decision seemed so simple, the car was beautiful and now it was mine! I was on cloud 9. However, as time whent on I learned a valuable lesson. No not that leasing a car is stupid and you should only buy cars (I will be happy to educate anyone on the pros and cons of leasing a vehicle and determine what decision is right for you). The lesson was on being content. While Sherry and I were doing well financially, getting the car came to be what I described as the worst financial decision I ever made.

Prior to my getting the car, I drove a perfectly nice and reliable Chevrolet truck… that was paid off. Looking back I wish I would have held on to my truck a little while longer before making my leap, but I just couldn’t withstand “the itch”. That’s the thing about car shopping, when you have “the itch” you just can’t go look because it makes it so hard to say no. Being content is something that was very difficult for me to grasp as I think it is for most young people right out of college. You finally have a little money, a steady job, and a world that is bombarding you with ways to “improve” upon your life.

So here I am today, I’ve turned in the keys and have removed the cd’s, Tolltag, sunglasses, garage access card, etc… Although I wish five years ago I would have been a little more patient, there wasn’t a day that went by that I didn’t enjoy my car. Driving to the dealership this past Saturday, I couldn’t believe I was turning it in. It was such a great car and I still really enjoyed driving it. If all of my “mistakes” in life turn out this good, I will be a very blessed man!

One thing is for certain I will always have my memories and pictures. Here are a few to officially say goodbye (if you would like, this is where you turn on Green Day’s Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) and scroll between the three pictures):



5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2008 4:37 pm

    >I came across your blog from Baby Bangs. Do you work for E&Y? I used to work for E&Y on the Atmos audit. I totally know the audit room you’re talking about!

  2. June 5, 2008 12:55 pm

    >Oh Trey! We are grieving with you. What a beaut! We just sold out BMW to avoid the Major repair cost that come to cars with age. She was beautiful but we knew it was time to let go.

  3. June 5, 2008 1:51 pm

    >Trey,Let’s just think about a lease for a second…JK!! Sorry for your loss…but if you put flames on the side of your new minivan, I have a feeling you’ll never look back.Struggling with the same contentment here…Let’s talk soon…Lanny

  4. June 6, 2008 8:37 am

    >Mini-vans are cool too.

  5. June 9, 2008 4:10 pm

    >Dear Trey,I think this may be a blessing in disguise. Better to get rid of the car while you still love it, that’s what I say. If you keep a car too long, you will, eventually, hate it. From one who knows.Your cousin,LindyPS- Contentment comes when she is ready. This is a time for building, growing, and pushing the envelope a little bit. That’s what youth is for! It’s its own gift. Contentment comes all by itself when you’re ready for it.

I love comments!

