Skip to content

Sorry for being M.I.A.

July 19, 2008

Wow, I can’t believe it has been two weeks! I am sorry for anyone who happens upon my blog, I’ve been a bad blogger!

The summer is flying by! We have been so busy the last couple of weeks. I wrapped up my first two summer classes, and now I am in the middle of my next class. Only two more to go (one in August and one in the fall) and I will graduate in December. Yay.

We had a few friends over for the 4th and played Rock Band and Settlers. If you haven’t played either of these fun things, you must! Trey left the next morning for Vegas. He and his dad took a father/son trip to see UFC 86. If you don’t know what that is, e-mail Trey and he’ll be sure to tell you the 100 reasons why UFC is just about the coolest thing in the world right now. At least he thinks so. Anyway, they had a great time and I know it was a good time for them to spend together. When they were gone Bebe (Trey’s dad’s wife) came in to keep me and Chlo company. We worked on my classroom and she even brought me her old sewing machine! Yes, I have turned in to Mrs. Susie Homemaker! I made curtains for my classroom this week, they turned out as well as can be expected for a first-time seamstress.

Rock Band is fun!

Trey with 155 lb. UFC Champion B.J. Penn. Trey says he’s pretty sure he can take him.

On Friday, July 11th, I got my iPhone!!! After six hours of waiting in line, a cel phone number change, and a few inappropriate texts and phone calls which led to another cel phone number change, I am proud to be a happy iPhone owner. It does some really cool things- one of my favorites is you can hold it up to any song (on the radio, in a movie, in an elevator) and it will tell you the name of the song, the artist, and finds it on iTunes and You Tube for you. Crazy, I know.

This is after six hours of waiting in line (with Chloe, who did great!)…I was next to go in to the Apple store! Little did I know the drama that was ahead! Thanks, Nick (my Apple sales rep) for making sure I left the store with an iPhone!

Friday night we went on our second date night (yes, we realize we must do this more) since Chloe was born. We started out by going to Ruth’s Chris steakhouse. They aren’t kidding when they say their steaks come out on 500 degree plates! I didn’t test it but they sure seemed that hot. Dinner was outstanding and then we headed for a milkshake (me) and a concrete (Trey) for dessert. Thanks Aunt J-Dub and Uncle Rico for babysitting! It was much needed couple time for us and we are thankful that Chloe got to hang with you!

And, of course, an update on Miss Chloe. She is doing great! Her new favorite thing is sweet potatoes! She can’t seem to get enough. Last night at church she didn’t get “kicked out” of nursery, which is a first. When I got there to pick her up she was peacefully sleeping in one of their jail-like cribs. It was priceless! She is rolling over, laughing and talking, and her favorite toy right now is her “froggy”.

I usually do a little better about not getting so much on her, but this day she must have really enjoyed her sweet potatoes!

So, that’s the update. I promise to be a better blogger in the near future, but come August 18th (a.k.a. back-to-work) I will be on my “school-time” schedule of blogging :-(

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2008 12:43 pm

    >Rock Band is addicting.

  2. July 21, 2008 8:47 am

    >I can’t believe you waited six hours for the iphone (with the baby!) My kids wouldn’t sit still for a minute:) The phones are very cool. I think Ryan’s debating the purchase so more that likely, he’ll get one!

  3. July 23, 2008 8:06 pm

    >I’ve missed your updates!Haha and yay for Chloe staying in the nursery! She is so cute.

  4. July 24, 2008 6:21 pm

    >Hey, Sherry! I have nominated you for a blog award. See my blog for details!

  5. July 27, 2008 11:27 am

    >FI – I put your blog on AR’s favs.

  6. July 30, 2008 9:42 am

    >Glad you’re back. Couple things: I was reading the post about the UFC guy but looking at the band picture and thought…”I’m pretty sure that’s Marshall, not a Fighting Champion.” (guess its good to scroll before thinking). And when are we going to hang out?!? Though after seeing you call your daughter “Chlo”, I’m certain Ben will be confused as “chlo” is the singular version of the plural “clothes”. You guys take care!!Lanny

I love comments!

