Skip to content

Back at Work

August 18, 2008

>So, it’s official… I am back at work and my summer is O-V-E-R. Today was my first day back at school, but this time I will be teaching a new grade with a new team in a new room! I am so excited about the upcoming school year… among many reasons is the fact that I have a handful of my first graders from two years ago! That was one of my most favorite classes, so I am just giddy about having those kids again this year!

Leaving Chloe today was so hard, but y’all must have been prayin‘ because we both had a great day! After the initial burst of tears as I left the daycare, I treated myself (and Krista, who dropped off her 3 month old for the first time too) to a yummy Starbucks which definitely helped- who can cry while enjoying the wonderfulness of a caramel macchiato? Ok so maybe it didn’t completely wipe away the tears but I will say it did make me a little happier. They say the first few weeks are the hardest so I am just going to pray my way through ’em! I know this is what I am supposed to be doing at this moment, and that is because I just have a peace from the Lord that this was the right decision for right now. Who knows what the future holds, but I am excited about this school year and all that is in store for me as a teacher and a mom. Chloe will be well taken care of by her sweet teachers and I know everything will be O.K.!

So, here is a picture of Chlo on her first day of daycare. She is just adorable. The teachers said she had a perfect day, so even if it wasn’t, I’m glad they lied and told me it was! It made me feel good when I walked in she was just as happy as can be, sitting in a bumbo chair playing with her passy. She gave me the biggest smile when she saw me, which of course was the best! If today is any indication to what the future holds, it is going to be a great year!
7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2008 9:18 pm

    >I am excited that you both had a good day! I was thinking about you this morning and praying that this transition would go smoothly for you. I’m sure the rest of the year will go great as well!

  2. August 19, 2008 8:01 am

    >Glad you had a good day. She is getting so big. (I found your blog through another blog) Hope things will continue to go well.

  3. August 19, 2008 2:01 pm

    >I am so excited for you! I remember last year leaving Jax and crying like a freak the whole time! But you know, he was fine and as hard as it is for me to admit, he even liked it. I know, I know, heart breaking for a mother to hear!! :)

  4. August 19, 2008 7:17 pm

    >glad that you both had a great first day back! can you believe that summer is gone and another school year is beginning. Chloe looks adorable!

  5. August 21, 2008 9:55 pm

    >What a cutie! I am so glad it has been a great start to the year! I was praying for you and Krista both – I am so glad you have each other to walk through this!

  6. August 22, 2008 2:36 pm

    >I am glad that day one went well, and I hope that the whole week did. I will continue to pray that you have peace about your decision and that Chloe loves her new day care. Here’s to a great year!

  7. August 23, 2008 3:53 pm

    >Hi, Shari your mom gave me your blog awhile ago. I read it every now and then. I’m so glad your first day back to work went well. I remember leaving mine 18 years ago to start back to another school year. This year I left him at college…it doesn’t get any easier…EVER! I’m glad you chose teaching as your profession…as I was your 3rd grade teacher way back when! Have a great year! (Mrs. Herron…but please call me Lori now!!)

I love comments!

