Skip to content

Yes, We Were In a Canoe Race

September 13, 2008
tags:

>No, we did not win.

My bro-in-law James was in charge of “Race on the River” in San Angelo, and somehow we got talked into representing the Fightin’ Texas Aggies in a canoe race. So, the horn blew and after our canoe got hit hard by Baylor we were in the lead! YAY go us. Then we had to go around a ball and come back to the finish line. Well, that’s where it all went wrong. Apparently I have no idea how to turn a canoe (you would think some of the skills I learned in canoeing class at A&M would have come back to me but…not so much). Also, I didn’t listen to my husband who sort of knew what to do. Sorry honey, I was under too much pressure. Anyway, we came in a close third/fourth. We say third, but it was officially fourth because we didn’t finish in between the markers. The announcer said, “Well, that’s typical of Aggies- always on the wrong side of the ball.” What a rude man. Anyway, at least I wasn’t like another poor soul who fell into the nastiness of the Concho River… although it would have made for an even more exciting blog post.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2008 11:10 am

    >You guys look like serious canoers! I would have loved to see that race. See you soon!

  2. September 14, 2008 1:21 pm

    >First the football team is beaten by Arkansas St., and now you guys get beaten in the San Angelo Race on the River. What is the world of Aggie sports coming to?Looks like you had fun anyway! Love it!!!

  3. September 14, 2008 3:41 pm

    >Oh my word, you crack me up!

  4. September 15, 2008 1:32 pm

    >Sounds like fun! Aggies always get picked on, but I am still proud to be one!

  5. September 15, 2008 8:18 pm

    >too funny! i probably wouldn’t have been able to turn the canoe either =)

  6. September 21, 2008 12:13 am

    >I agree…. the river would have been worse! thats too funny — i hope you celebrated your 3/4th place victory at T’s! sorry we missed seeing this one!

  7. September 28, 2008 11:00 pm

    >Is it even wise to be in the Concho River? Seriously, if you know, write to me off list and let me know if there are any good kayaking routes. I don’t want to do it, though, if it’s all skanky. I’m a Town Lake gal remember…Love you.

I love comments!

