Skip to content

Lost…

November 25, 2008

>So, I was reading on my friend Amanda’s blog the other day about how she lost her Aggie ring years ago and found it recently. I thought about how I really haven’t lost anything that important to me, and how thankful I was for that. Fast forward to yesterday. I was at the dentist’s office getting my check-up. The dental hygienist wanted to take x-rays (of course) so I had to take out my earrings, my diamond studs that were a “push” present (although I technically didn’t push even once) from Trey when Chloe arrived. Needless to say they are priceless. So, I take them out, put them in a little pocket of my purse, along with my necklace. After the x-rays, the lady asked me to put my jewelry back on, so I reached for my necklace, put it back on, and went on my way. I didn’t want to mess with the screw-back earrings (they take forever to get on and off), so I didn’t realize one was missing until last night. I was sitting in class and remembered about the earrings, knowing I needed to put them back in my ears before they went missing. Oops. A little too late. There was only one.

I started freaking out, digging all around in my purse- no where. Of course, a million things go through my head. Maybe it is in my car; maybe I dropped it at the dentist’s office and they found it; maybe I have a hole in the lining of my purse and it is in there somewhere; should I tell Trey? No. I’ll just go to the place where he got them, show them the one I have, get them to make a replica of it and somehow pay for it without Trey knowing. Yeah right. He’s an accountant. Where in the world would I be able to get enough money to pay for this without him finding out? Clearly wrong choice. Next thought- I’ll just tell him that I lost it but that I will pay for the replacement out of my fun money (that should only take a few years) and everything will be ok. At this point I had pretty much already lost all hope. But, I went ahead and called the dentist’s office at 9:40 pm last night to leave a message that I had lost it and to please look for it when they opened today.

I called Trey when I got in the car after class. I immediately start bawling, and the first thing he asks is “did you get a ticket?”. “No, worse” were the first words I thought. Next guess, “Did someone hit your car?” which now looking back is so nicely put…not “did you wreck your car?” which would have been way more accusatory. “No, worse” were still the words ringing in my head. Where was “are you hurt and about to die?” or something to that effect- something that would be worse? Finally, I just said it. Ouch. Silence. Seriously, the man took it better than I thought, but you could tell the words “irresponsible” and “how could you” were in the back of his throat somewhere. Those words never came out. Instead, he said “well, we’ll look for it when you get home”. The nice guy treatment. Almost worse than the I’m-so-mad-at-you guy. That was his reaction for the rest of the night. We looked all over the car, my purse, anywhere…it was still lost.

Fast forward to this morning. I am in the sleeping but awake state and was thinking about my wonderful night’s rest… then boom. The memory of the lost earring. What a way to start a day. I decide (with a little nudging from Trey) that I should go to the dentist’s office right when they open at 8 to see if maybe, just maybe they have it waiting for me. I prayed the whole way there that the earring would be there. I walk in and sweet Martha at the front desk looks at me with pitiful eyes and says they’ve been on their hands and knees looking for it for me- no where to be found. I ask her if she minded if I went to the x-ray room just for one more look, and she led the way. I showed her the desk where I had set my purse, and she got down and looked under the desk… and I heard her glorious words: “HERE IT IS!”!!!!!!! My first words were “no that can’t be it” followed by a fairly-loud scream, clapping, and hugging! Tears were rolling down my cheeks- I’m sure sweet Martha thought I was nuts. I still can’t believe it! The little bitty stud, that was like a needle in a haystack, was right there, safe and sound. I immediately called Trey and we were both overwhelmed with joy. I know it’s just an earring and I would have lived without it, but it meant so much to me that it was there!! I was sure to thank God- He reminded me this morning that He listens to all of our prayers and cares about everything we are going through, even if it seems small.

After sharing in the excitement with Trey, I hopped into my car and went on about my morning (Starbucks and Target were musts – for celebratory reasons, of course!). As the morning went on, I still couldn’t believe it was there and everything was fine. I had both earrings, and they were safely back in my ears! I couldn’t believe that one minute I was so hopeless and the next, everything was wonderful. That earring was lost, and now it is found. Simple as that….

Now, a drum roll please for my profound analogy. I once was lost. Doomed to an eternal life of sin and hopelessness. Then, in one moment, I was found by Jesus Christ, and everything changed. Simple as that. I am now blessed with the hope of Christ- an eternity with him that is beyond any joy I can imagine. What an amazing thing Christ did for me (oh and besides saving me, He also let me find my lost earring! Thanks be to HIM!) Here is the first and last picture you’ll ever see of that earring not in my ear!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2008 7:15 pm

    >Whew! I’m so glad for your happy ending!

  2. November 25, 2008 9:54 pm

    >So glad you found it!!!

  3. November 26, 2008 11:43 am

    >so glad you found it! I think we've all been there and felt that hopelessness when we've lost something. It also makes me think of my silly hopelessness over such little things lost in life compared to the loss I've seen in others lives and the hopelessness they must feel. I'm thankful this week that I have not had to suffer such losses. God is so good to bless us with the healthy families & friends that we have and kept us from any major tragedies. Hope you guys have a Happy Thanksgiving!! Hope to see you sometime soon!

  4. November 26, 2008 2:30 pm

    >Oh Bear!!! I completely understand! I was laughing and crying through your post. Last weekend I dropped my similar ear-ring Allen gave me for our wedding. We were in the bathroom at mom’s house and it was only lost for a few minutes, but those few minutes were miserable. I know STUFF isn’t by any means the most important thing, but the emotions we experience can surely teach us a couple of things 1) like you said we could live without this stuff and 2) if we are this happy over our lost STUFF, imagine how happy our heavenly Father is over bringing back His straying sheep. I am rejoicing with you that you found your priceless treasure! I love this post and WOHOOO I will see you tonight! Be safe!!

  5. November 26, 2008 10:30 pm

    >I’m so glad you found it. Those special gifts are so near and dear. I might add that you are an excellent writer. Must be the teacher in you :)

I love comments!

