Skip to content

Thanksgiving

November 30, 2008

>We had a great Thanksgiving holiday! We drove to San Angelo on Wednesday to visit my family. Chloe and I are both still fighting off our colds, but we made the most of our 4 days there. It was so fun to see Simon and Chloe playing together, they are so different! Simon is one month older than Chloe and he is just so active! He is crawling, pulling up, and will be walking any day now. Chloe is just fine sitting like a little lady or being held by anyone. She still has no intention of crawling despite our attempts to help her learn! I was hopeful that her cousin would help influence her with his stellar crawling moves, but she didn’t seem to be impressed.

Of course, Friday we went DAT shopping. I refuse to call it “Black Friday” because that just sounds so… negative & depressing… so I started calling it DAT (for Day After Thanksgiving) a few years ago. Now DAT has become a family tradition! This was my first DAT with my mom and sisters in 3 years. So, Thanksgiving night we pulled out the ads, made our list, and got a plan down for DAT. I went to bed as soon as Chloe was down for the night and could hardly fall asleep because of the excitement! Earlier in the week when I was coming down with the cold, Trey said “maybe you shouldn’t be out in the cold on Friday morning” but I informed him that I would have to be on my death bed before I would miss DAT with my mom and sisters! Well, after puking up (I know, TMI) my Thanksgiving dinner at 11 pm that night (not sure if I got a stomach bug or what), I felt like I was on my death bed. I was so sad that I was that sick and just didn’t think I could go DAT shopping. But, after Trey so kindly helped me back to bed, I fell asleep until my alarm went off at 4am. I didn’t feel perfect, but I couldn’t miss DAT. We were at Wal-Mart at 5am! I found some fabulous steals while out shopping on DAT. My favorites include: 28 piece Rubbermaid storage containers for $7, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants DVD for $3.98, the cutest 3-piece Christmasy pj’s for $12.99, 2 adorable dresses for CLC for $4 each, and of course lots of deals on presents for others (those I can’t mention or you might know what you’re getting for Christmas!). Yay for another successful and fun DAT!

That night the hubs and I snuck out for a late movie- whoo hoo! Who knew that the one thing we miss the most about pre-baby life was MOVIES?? We have both been reading the Twilight series (I’m about to start book 3 tonight!) and we were so excited to see the movie. We both loved it. The book is so much better and the movie was cheesy at parts, but we both thought it was really good. And, for the record, I never thought I would say that about a vampire movie. Also, I just downloaded the sweetest song from the soundtrack… “Flightless Bird, American Mouth” by Iron & Wine.

So, we headed back to the Big D yesterday. I can’t believe I have to go to work tomorrow and leave my sweet baby at daycare. I was spoiled having her with me 24/7 for the last 9 days. But, only 3 weeks until our Christmas break begins!


Posted by Picasa
8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2008 9:33 pm

    >ohhhh i’m so sorry you had to throw up =(i am proud of your perseverence, though! way to go on those deals – and glad you’re feeling better. =)

  2. November 30, 2008 9:51 pm

    >i too think that black friday sounds yucky…so i just might still your DAT! i too snatched the plastic container deal at wal mart. sounds like you had a wonderful thanksgiving. so glad that you got to spend it with your sisters and family!

  3. November 30, 2008 11:15 pm

    >I am cracking up. You must read my latest post. :)I miss you girl! I think you must’ve called while we were watching Four Christmases. I will try and catch you very soon!

  4. November 30, 2008 11:42 pm

    >I should have given you a call. I was in San Angelo for Thanksgiving and was at Walmart at 4:30 am on Friday. How crazy is that. Miss you friend.

  5. December 1, 2008 11:29 am

    >Love the fuzzy hats on babies!

  6. December 1, 2008 2:10 pm

    >Hey! Happy late Thanksgiving! Chloe is getting so big!!!! I miss you guys. The stomoch bug is going around here in C-City so bad. Jax has had it twice and I have had it once. You should call when you are down again, maybe we can meet up!Jamie

  7. December 1, 2008 3:38 pm

    >Congrats on your great DAT deals! We went to Canton this year instead, in hopes of catching the Christmas Mood!FYI: the word I had to type in for the comment to go through is:fleuci………lol

  8. December 1, 2008 3:47 pm

    >I love it! We were DAT shopping too…sure wish we could’ve seen you out and about!

I love comments!

