Skip to content

The Story of the Shamwows

February 17, 2009

Well our Valentine’s plans were all set- fun dinner at a nice restaurant in Dallas, a cute chick flick at the actual movie theatre (we haven’t seen the inside of one of those in months), and a night alone while baby girl spent the night at Noni’s. Sounds perfect, right? Too good to be true? Yep! Trey woke up sick on Thursday. Friday morning I was running fever. We were so sad that yet again we were sick and had to cancel our fabulous plans. That’s life with a kid in day care, it seems.

So, instead of out fun night out we had a relaxing weekend around the house filled with way too many fast food meals (but who can cook when you feel like crap?)! On Saturday morning over chicken biscuits and a large, real Coke, Trey plops down my favorite color bag- silver! That sweet guy of mine went and picked out the cutest, summer-y apple red French Connection top from Nordstrom just for me! He IS the best. So, what did I get him? Oh well, let me tell you ladies! I got my man the best gift ever- a set of his very own Shamwows! You see, for the past, oh, six Valentine’s days together (other than our first, when we were still trying hard to impress) we have exchanged “little” gifts- cd’s, iTunes gift cards, flowers, candies, etc. So, when he mentioned a few weeks before that he would like some Shamwows for car washing, I found them at my last trip to Canton and thought they would be the perfect v-day gift. Little did I know that the hubs would come home with a chic new top! I feel like the worst wife ever!
And, last night he mentioned to me (not to be rude, to be funny) that they aren’t even the real Shamwows. They are the Canton version. Basically just cut up felt. Now I really feel like the worst wife ever! Not only did I get him a way worse gift than he got me, I got him generic. And if you know Trey, you know he just doesn’t do generic. (And please know that Trey was very thankful for what I got him… he really did want some… but we have had a few laughs over the last couple of days over the vast difference in our two gifts!)
That is the Story of the Shamwows. Hey, if they work, it might make me feel a little better. Only time will tell… we’ll keep you posted.
Oh, and here’s our cute little Valentine doing her new favorite thing- taking everything off the shelves in her room!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2009 9:21 pm

    >Love this post!! LOL @ generic Canton Shamwows!!!

  2. February 17, 2009 10:04 pm

    >I so want tsome Shamwows! And I think we need a picture of you in your new chic shirt! :)

  3. February 18, 2009 9:37 pm

    >First of all, you earned the shirt (referring to the picture in your last post before this one). Second, recently it seems that every man I know is super into Shamwows. Steve came home with some out of the blue couple of weeks ago, and I’ve since learned they are to be used ONLY on his car. He loves them. Who knew?!

  4. February 19, 2009 11:43 am

    >Ok you are cracking me up!!! Brian and I did not even exchange gifts. At least you went to the trouble of getting a gift.Courtney

  5. February 19, 2009 12:36 pm

    >I am sorry that Valentines was a bust! Hope you are all feeling better. Let me know how the Shammy’s work…I have been wanting those. Miss you tons!

Trackbacks

  1. Love. « Crazy Blessed

I love comments!

