Skip to content

Party Pics

March 1, 2009

>

Here are the pictures from Chloe’s strawberry party! We had so much fun, even though the day was a little stressful. You know, this is our first time getting ready for our kid’s birthday party- and we want it to be a great day. There were a few “speed bumps” throughout the day, but none compare to what happened about 12:45 p.m. (Remember, party time = 3pm)

Trey and my dad walk in the house with the cake from Society Bakery in Dallas (a 1 hour round trip drive), and I rush over to see how cute it is…. and a mom’s worst first birthday nightmare happened- THEY. SPELLED. HER. NAME. WRONG. C-H-O-L-E. Not CHLOE. Seriously? Do you know anyone named Chole? Seriously. So, I calmly (???) called the bakery and informed them that not only did they spell her name wrong (which is just crazy to me- you would think they would triple-check name spellings of first birthday cakes!), we also asked for a two-tier cake, and as you can see below, it is one. I told the lady that we loved the cake- it was beautiful and I knew it would taste great, but they didn’t do what we asked. She asked if we lived close. Well, um, NO. She did say that if Trey could come back, they would fix it and give us a discount. So, Trey took another trip into Dallas, they fixed the cake, and he got back in plenty of time. So, although it was definitely annoying, it turned out just fine. It was an amazing cake and Chloe loved it (along with everyone else- it was FABULOUS- if you live around the area you must, must go get at least a cupcake from this bakery). Because of their prompt response to fix and discount, and because there is no one who makes a better tastin’ cake, we will still be big fans and customers of Society Bakery.

Before-

After!

Now as for the party- we know Chloe had a great time! She had a huge piece of cake and ate every bite, and she also enjoyed opening presents and getting all of the attention. We were so thankful that all of our friends and family were able to celebrate with us!

Here are some pictures of the decorations- Keith made her “Happy Birthday, Chloe!” sign to match her invitations.

Here is a picture of the outfit- leopard print tutu and all!

Who’s idea was it to coordinate our shirts, you ask? Not me! Another reason why I love my husband- he is the fashion king. Thanks to him, I know about Seven jeans- and my life would not be the same without ’em.

This was such a great weekend! Now that it comes to a close, we have a lot going on this week. First of all, Chloe starts at her new sitter’s house tomorrow. We were so sad to say goodbye to Ms. Aubrey at her old daycare (we miss you already!!), but we have a wonderful opportunity for Chloe to stay with her friend Owen at his sitter’s house! She will be right down the road from my school and will be cared for by Mrs. Vicki, who has been keeping Owen since August. God has been faithful in answering our prayers and leading us to Mrs. Vicki!

Also this week is my students’ first TAKS test! I am as nervous as they are. I know I have prepared them and each of them will do great, but please pray for our nerves on Tuesday morning! Have a great week!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2009 9:44 pm

    >I’ve kind of become a freak about your blog. I just HAVE to read it to see what my Chole (haha) is up to now! We have a new baby starting tomorrow, but I don’t know what I’ll do without her around anymore! Who’s going to share my chicken nuggets with me?! The party looks like it was HUGE success. I love those mishaps. They’ll be great stories to tell Chloe later, and for her to pass on to her kiddos. Trust me, they’ll NEVER believe it happened to them. “Haha, yeah right.” is what I usually get. I miss all of you already, but I’ll talk to you soon! Good luck tomorrow! I’ll be thinking of you, Trey, and my Chloe! Love you!

  2. March 1, 2009 9:52 pm

    >Oh my gosh! I am so glad that Society took care of you!We were so sad to miss. I can’t wait to see you and your little one-year-old! Where does the time go?

  3. March 2, 2009 9:01 am

    >Those are some seriously cute pictures! You did a great job, and it all looks just perfect (taking notes for June ’10 =). Oh, and congrats on the new sitter…I think that is fabulous to have Owen and Chloe together – they’ll be even better friends than before!

  4. March 3, 2009 8:58 pm

    >wow… i had no idea about the cake — you pulled it off great! and yall were so cute in your coordinating shirts! great party — tanner loved his goody bag – it was a hit!

  5. March 4, 2009 9:48 pm

    >I am so so sad that we missed it, but she looks adorable and I assume that she had a great time! Happy Birthday “Chole”! We will have to get together soon to celebrate again. Love you guys!

I love comments!

