Skip to content

Whew!

May 3, 2010
tags:

Holy cow! These last few weeks have been some of the craziest ever! I am 38+ weeks pregnant and no baby yet- which is a good thing. God has been so good allowing us to get all moved in and settled before Jack arrives. Now, however, he is welcome to make his grand entrance anytime. Every day I am getting more and more uncomfortable. I know he’ll be here soon enough.

THE MOVE- we are officially citizens of the city of Dallas. We moved two weeks ago and thanks to great family and friends, our house is pretty much completely unpacked and we feel settled! We bought an older home in a North Dallas neighborhood surrounded by lots of trees and houses and cars and people and Starbucks and Target and… we are so happy! We already miss Forney, but moving to a bigger house was a move we’d been planning to make for a long time. Now that we are in Dallas, Trey is only 10 minutes from work- bless his heart- and he was not sad to say goodbye to the long commute he’s had for for way too long. I am so happy to see him come through the door before 6pm! Here’s the new casa:
THE BOY- Of course, my body has shown no signs of labor which is no surprise. I had Chloe at 38 weeks and I hadn’t progressed at all then either. So, my C-section is scheduled for the 14th (which will be almost 40 weeks!) and my doctor has no hopes of me going into labor before then. Darn. I’m glad he waited this long, but now I am ready. His nursery turned out super fabulous, especially considering that I had no idea where he was even going to live just a few weeks ago! I’ll post pics when I have some more stuff hanging up, but the walls are a perfect shade of green and the letters above his bed turned out to be too cute! Also, a few girlfriends threw me a “sprinkle” to celebrate Jack. You can see pictures here. Thanks to my wonderful friends and family for spoiling me and baby!
THE GIRL- Can I just tell you I have the easiest and best girl in the whole world??!! A few weeks ago I started listing in my head all of the changes that were going to be happening to our sweet baby over the next few months: stop sucking the fingers, moving to a new place, getting into a big girl bed, having a baby brother, getting potty trained… and the list goes on. So, I thought I’d start with the fingers. She hasn’t seen the dentist yet, but I knew she’d probably tell us that she can’t suck her fingers anymore so I decided this was a good one to tackle. Do you know what I did to get her to stop?? I told her “no”. One time. I explained to her that big girls like mommy and Hannah Montana and Dora don’t suck their fingers. And that was it. Done. She hasn’t sucked them since (unless it’s in the middle of the night and I don’t see it!). I am SO proud of her. So, next on the list- big girl bed. I heard many different opinions about what to do/when to do it.. but I just knew she was ready. And guess what? She’s been sleeping in her big girl bed for a week and she’s only woken up once in the middle of the night- and that time she just called out “Mommy, I need more covers!”. I am in awe. I am beyond proud of her for making it over a week without getting out of bed. She is such a great girl! So, I guess a little while after Jack arrives, we’ll do the potty thing. She is sort-of interested, going every now and then, so I don’t think it will be too bad when the day comes. And, I know, I have my work cut out for me with Jack- everyone says you can’t have 2 easy children. We will see. Oh, and Chloe’s new room is pretty cute too. Again, when it’s done, I’ll post better pictures, but here’s one of Chloe climbing in her new bed for the first time.
Also, we celebrated her not sucking her fingers with a big trip to McDonald’s.

The JOB- This is my last week at work. Crazy. I can’t believe it. It has already been an emotional week and it’s only Monday! I’ve worked at the same school with the same ladies and the same boss and the same kids for 6 years. They are like family! I am so blessed to be able to stay home with Chloe and Jack but I know I will miss my Henderson peeps so much. I have promised to come and visit but I just know it won’t be the same. I will miss being a part of such a great place.

I guess I hit the high points. I’m going to change blogs soon. “Our Life Out Here” isn’t too relevant now, right? I’ll probably post Jack pics on here and maybe switch after we’ve settled in a bit. I know you are all super concerned, so I’ll be sure to warn you when I have a new address. Hopefully my next post will include me in a fashionable hospital gown holding a precious baby boy!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 9:01 pm

    >Whew is right!! :) You guys have been so busy but I am so glad that everything has been going good, that you are moved in, and that Chloe has adjusted so well!! We cannot wait to meet Jack.

  2. May 11, 2010 7:32 am

    >checking out the blog when josh walks by and says, "hey look! Chloe. Chloe my best friend. She comes to my house every day." Guess we need to visit again soon. I know you have tons of friends, but what are your views on arranged marriages?!?!?

I love comments!

