Skip to content

A Tale of Two Burritos

June 24, 2010

>Not sure why, but after seeing the picture below of my sweet daughter as we dined out recently, I decided to give you my opinion on Freebirds World Burrito. If you’ve never been to one, you are missing out. Although Aggies can’t claim the very first Freebirds, the first one in Texas was opened in College Station in 1990 (thanks to their website for that info) and has since become an Aggie tradition. So, in 2002 when we left our blessed college town to move to Dallas, this restaurant was among the list of places we were definitely going to miss. Others included Garcia’s, Layne’s, Wings N More, Shakes, and Texas Cookie Cutters to name a few- you Aggies can add to the list, I’m sure! Not long after settling in our new 801 foot square apartment (how ever did we do that?), we found out that a Freebirds was opening in Dallas, and since then we have not done without the Bird in our eating out rotation.

Freebirds is often compared to Chipotle, which makes most Aggies like me truly ticked. Or maybe I’m the only one that is annoyed by the comparison. Either way, I’ll share why. Although they serve the same type of food in the same manner, there are things about each place that make them stand apart. I’m not saying I don’t love me some Chipotle (although it was started by McDonald’s, which is just all kinds of wrong) their rice is something I crave, even when I’m not pregnant- but you need to hear me out and give the Bird some love too. Holly, I am talking to you. And whoever else is reading, of course.

Why Freebirds is fabulous: Options on tortilla flavors and size of burrito, Mexican-style rice, choice of two kinds of cheeses, option of QUESO on your burrito, uh-MAZing BBQ sauce, and the perfect foil wrapping are just a few of my favorite things about this place. Plus, there are cute little foil sculptures all over the restaurant and they make me happy. If you haven’t tried their BBQ sauce, you need to go back. It could possibly be what you’ve been missing.

Why I love Chipotle– cilantro-lime rice, tasty marinade on their chicken, and their guacamole is to die for.

When I visit these places, I get the same looking, foil-wrapped burrito (although as stated earlier Freebirds does a much better job on their foil skilz), but what is inside tastes completely different and really can’t be compared. My Bird is a mix of chicken, queso, and their famous bbq sauce with a little rice, refried beans, lettuce, and cilantro thrown in. My Chipotle burrito is a fabulous blend of their flavorful rice, chicken, sour cream, pinto beans, and cheese, with guacamole on the side. To me, I can’t make the same burrito at both places because they have completely different ingredients to chose from. Sometimes I crave Freebirds, other times Chipotle. It just depends on my mood and where we’ve been to more lately. It’s like chosing between Seven and Citizen jeans. I love them both, and they each have their own fabulous-ness.

If I had to chose, though, you know which way I’d go. I am an Aggie, after all.

Oh, and my girl prefers the Bird. She is not influenced in any way by her Aggie parents. Except for that if she chose C over FB, it would be like her choosing tu over A&M, and that ain’t ever happenin‘, folks.

Posted by Picasa
3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 8:36 pm

    >HaHaHa! Love it!

  2. June 25, 2010 1:04 am

    >You don't know me, but I've followed you guys since before Chloe was here through Jennifer's site. I lived in C.S. for six years, and I just have to agree with you on everything you said here. I like BOTH places, but their is just something at home about freebirds! Oh, and my favorite place to eat in Bryan/C.S. is the Chicken Oil Company ( a snuffy special with Tij. french fries with ranch…to die for! Yummy!) How I miss the food down there!!!

  3. June 25, 2010 7:49 am

    >I totally agree! In loyalty to Freebird's, I only get the burrito bowl at Chipotle. I'm also a little freakish about staying true to the old school ingredients at Freebird's and I don't get any of the new options. Like last time they offered me ranch dressing. Really? A new one just opened up on our church route and we're so excited!

I love comments!

