Skip to content

Today I am still 29, thank you very much

July 31, 2010
tags:

>And it will stay that way for 13 more days. What in the world? Two weeks left of my twenties? I remember turning 20 and thinking that was OLD. Really? Where did the past 10 years go? I have no idea what the hubs has planned for the big day, but I’m sure he’s got something up his sleeve. All I requested was a treat from Society Bakery, of course. Anything else is just icing on the cake! Although I can’t believe I’m almost in my thirties, I really am excited about the next decade and what it has to bring- the kids learning to read and ride bikes, starting school, taking our first family vacation to Fun Valley (my childhood vacation spot), celebrating our 10 year anniversary, and the list goes on. Highs, lows, and all, my thirties are here (almost) and I am thankful I have so much to experience!

I finally feel like a stay at home mom! May, June, and most of July were filled with newborn baby (when nothing is normal) and plumbing issues (where we were out of our home for what seemed like forever). Until this week, I hadn’t really enjoyed just being home with the kids. I have to say that so far, I LOVE it. Of course, it is not always pretty, but it is so much fun! It gives me great excitement that I’m the one fixing lunch, going to playdates, etc. I have found that we all have much happier days if we get out for a bit- even if it is a quick playdate at a friend’s house, lunch at Chick-Fil-A, etc. I think that is the consensus with most stay at home moms- getting out just helps break up the days and then we don’t get stuck in a rut of never drying our hair. Or is that just me? I have the thickest hair in the world and it takes 30 minutes to dry it with a round brush. And, you don’t want to see it without the round brush action. All I can say is Tina Turner has nothing on me. So, if we have no where to go, I usually leave it wet. If I’m feeling a little crazy I might put some curl enhancing mousse on it to help with the natural wave, but it still ain’t a pretty sight. So, getting out not only gets the dryer going, but also serves more important purposes like fellowship with friends and exposing the kids to new things. Oh and daily participation in Sonic happy hour. That is a key experience my kids can’t miss.

My last week of Sonic happy hour has been ordering Diet Coke instead of regular. Pregnancy left me 9 months worth of excuses to order the real thing, but now it is time to make the switch back, and it has not been easy. This girl loves her some real Coca-Cola. But, Trey and I joined Weight Watchers a week ago, and I can’t afford to spend 5 points on a drink. Our 13 week goal is to be down to our ideal weight, so we have until October 18 to get there. So far, so good. This isn’t our first WW gig- after our first year of marriage we both did it and lost what we had gained in that year. It worked back then, so we are hopeful! We have just been eating terrible for 3 years- since I was pregnant with Chloe- and it was time to make a change. It is amazing how much better we feel already.

Trey is also doing a boot camp. These things are serious, y’all. I’ve never seen him so beat, and he can already see results. I’m glad I have the excuse of taking care of the kids so I don’t have to go. I think I would pass out in the warm up.

Gotta go get ready for a birthday party for a sweet little one year old. Y’all have a great weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 8:30 pm

    >I turn 30 in 4 days, I totally feel you! I'm super excited about what the future holds, but I swear just yesterday I was in college or getting married…not about to turn 30! Loved your post on Freebirds, I'm another Aggie, so I totally LOVE LOVE LOVE Freebirds!!

I love comments!

