Skip to content

best. birthday. ever.

August 16, 2010

I had the most amazing weekend celebrating my 30th birthday. My husband is most definitely to blame for all of the fun! The theme was “Sherry in the City”.  The invitations, cake, and weekend all revolved around a fun weekend in Dallas filled with all of my favorites! I was kept in the dark until each part unfolded, which made everything exciting!

I woke up Friday morning to my iPhone alarm at 5:30 so Trey could go to boot camp. I thought he was headed to work after that, but he informed me he’d be staying home for the day & we were going to breakfast- my choice. To a girl who loves breakfast and loves to spend time with her family, this was a perfect start to a birthday! After Trey got back, we headed to Breadwinners. I ordered one of their new breakfast casseroles and was not disappointed.

After breakfast we drove back to the house. I knew my bestie was picking me up at 11:30, but all I knew was I needed to “look cute”. When Jenn arrived she let me know we were headed to Northpark for some spa time and lunch! Her theory was we couldn’t have my 30th birthday go by without some Northpark, and I totally agreed. We browsed the sale racks at Nordstrom, got a Sonic drink (because that’s the way we always roll), and headed to the Spa at Nordstrom for fabulous pedicures. I totally needed the girl time, and little did I know that really I was being distracted from lots of other things that needed to be done for that night. We enjoyed lunch at Bistro N where I fell in love with their fries. YUM. Our fun outing ended with a trip to Sprinkles for a birthday cupcake! Thanks Jenn for such a fun birthday present!

Jenn dropped me off at home and I was able to spend a little time with the kids, which was perfect. Chloe was so excited it was my birthday. When I went to get her out of bed that morning, she saw me and immediately started saying “we have a surprise for you, Mommy!” She pulled a card out of her nightstand that she and Trey had prepared. She was so proud of herself!

A week ago, Trey and I headed to the mall- my instructions were to find a dress, shoes, and jewelry to wear on my birthday. He would be wearing a suit, so I needed something dressy and fabulous. I had so much fun shopping for the dress and finally decided on a fun version of a LBD that I knew I’d be wearing sometime this weekend. Well, after playing with the kids for a while, Trey said we needed to leave the house at 7:30, so I knew I needed to start getting ready. With rollers in my hair, I answered the doorbell to find my parents standing on the porch! I didn’t think I’d be seeing them on my birthday- my mom is a principal’s secretary, so she is swamped at work. So, needless to say I was so happy that they came in town! They had presents in hand- my favorite was a beautifully framed picture of my childhood home. It brought back so many of my childhood memories. I will cherish that picture forever.

Trey got my parents all set for keeping the kids, and we were off to the next part of my fun day. We headed downtown and I still had no clue where we’d end up. We pulled up at Reunion Tower, and then I knew we’d be eating at Wolfgang Puck’s 560 restaurant at the top! I had never been inside Reunion Tower, and we love Puck’s restaurants in Vegas, so I was thrilled to be eating at such a fun place.

Dinner was filled with some of the best food of my life, and my closest friends at my side. The Greens, Thomases, and Krista joined us for dinner, and the night couldn’t have been any better. The food was incredible and the conversation was filled with stories and laughter. Many things went down at dinner: I tried sushi for the first time and loved it. Richard ordered a whole fish (head and eyeball included). I had a quail dish that made my heart happy. Trey had them bring out my cake from Society Bakery and it happened to be the most amazing cake I’d ever seen- I think you’ll agree.  I was blessed to be surrounded by such dear friends that love me despite my old age!

Dinner came to an end, and I thought we were headed home. Deep in conversation about how exciting the whole day had been, I didn’t realize that instead of going home, we were pulling up to the Ritz Carlton! Trey had already packed a bag for me and checked in when I was at the mall with Jenn. I walked into our SUITE to find a beautiful arrangement of white hydrangeas and roses. What a perfect ending to a perfect day!  The room was amazing and we had the best time just relaxing. Trey even remembered to bring two forks from home so we could have a little midnight snack of birthday cake. We were SO excited to be in a hotel room and have a whole night’s sleep sans children.

We slept in until 9am & then headed to the Ritz’s restaurant Fearings for their yummy breakfast buffet. It was outstanding- the french toast, the migas, the muffins, the coffee. Then, we packed up and headed home to see the fam. The birthday festivities ended with the last of my favorites- Chuy’s for lunch with family.

I am so thankful for everyone for making this weekend so special. If I knew turning the big 3-0 would be this fun, I’d have wanted it a long time ago. I am looking forward to my thirties- they’re gonna be great!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 3:04 pm

    Sherry, happy 30th! It sounds like you had an AMAZING celebration. You look fabulous. And so does your cake! Much love to the birthday girl.

  2. August 22, 2010 7:36 pm

    I just found your blog from FB. I’m so excited to be able to keep up with you guys!

I love comments!

