Skip to content

1985

August 23, 2010

Happy first day of school to most of my peeps! My mom, sister, and many close friends are starting their new school year today. I have a former student whom I adore- Hagen- who is starting middle school. Holly is sending her baby to kindergarten, then attending the boo-hoo breakfast for kindergarten moms, I’m sure. Another close friend is teaching a new group of kiddos and dealing with her first few days of morning sickness- yuck. What an emotional day for so many people! I have said a prayer for each of you this morning! In honor of today, the first “first day of school” I’ve missed since 1985, here is a picture of me on my way to start kindergarten. Holy moly. Look at that cheese!!!

A couple of questions for you:

1.  Amy- what in the world would you need that fills an entire duffel bag on the first day of school? You could barely zip that purple thing! Did you pack your entire eraser collection in there? :-)

2. Mom- socks with sandals? Really? Was that your idea or mine? I know I’ve always been at the frontier of fashion and I just don’t think that was ever ok. But apparently, one of us thought it was.

PS- my mom made my strawberry outfit. I was so proud of that thing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Dantzler permalink
    August 23, 2010 10:53 am

    i am pretty sure it was a purple trapper keeper. that was our first year at glenmore. i had mrs. eaton. mom made my outfit too, and i had another one just like it in hawaiian print. i very well remember angie’s sweater was store bought, because she was in the 6th grade and 6th grade is very important, you get a store bought top. but mom made her skirt, i think. angie looks like a teacher already. look at her pearls. i didn’t remember angie’s bag as anything other than mom’s cross-stitch bag. i guess mom took over that bag after angie was too old for care bears. i think mom’s cross stitch thread is still in that bag.

  2. August 23, 2010 2:37 pm

    HaHaHa! Love the picture. Very cool that you are even holding a sign that says 1985!

  3. August 23, 2010 8:56 pm

    OMG! Can we say little Chloe. She is like your little clone! Thanks for the shout out, I feel so important! Also, why is Angie wearing old lady clothes?

  4. August 27, 2010 1:54 pm

    I’m cracking up at your sock comment because in the picture I posted on my birthday, I was probably 4, and I’m almost certain that I had on purple jellies with that dress and most likely socks with the little lace trim as well. Must’ve been an 80s thing?

I love comments!

