Skip to content

My little redhead is getting so big

August 27, 2010

Today Chloe is 2 1/2 years old! I can’t believe we are on the downhill to three. What in the world? I feel like it was just yesterday when I was pregnant with her, and now I’ve already had another kid! Weird. I know everyone says that it goes by so fast- and they are correct. I just want to freeze time right now and keep her this age forever.

We are definitely in the “twos” but most of the time she is a very good girl. We are working on the occasional (yet almost unbearable for mom) fit throwing and that red-headed temper. I just finished reading Don’t Make Me Count to Three by Ginger Plowman and I have started doing lots of things this experienced mom writes about in her book. Just this week I taught Chloe this saying: When I say “How does God want you to obey?” she says “All the way, right away, and with a happy heart.” The funny thing is, I really think Chloe gets that. Since learning about obeying and what that means, she has done much better. We have good days with a few bad days thrown in, which is more than I could ask from a two-year old.

The book was also great in guiding us in how/when to spank, and that the most important part of discipline is the reproof. She also has many Bible verses that you can use in different situations when disciplining. Anyway, for any moms out there with young kids, it is definitely worth reading and taking her ideas to fit your style.

Chloe, right now:

You can’t live without Toy Story fruit snacks, your princess “barbies”, and your Dora coloring set your Noni gave you.

You weigh about 32 pounds and are getting so lean- really changing from baby to big girl.

You have been potty trained for over a month. This was something I was so worried about, but of course, you picked it up in one day.

You can spell your name, count to twenty in English and Spanish (thank you, Dora), and are learning new letters every day.

You still LOVE Dora. You would still watch it all day if I would let you. In fact, most of your fits come when I turn the tv off.

You say the funniest things. When we didn’t know where something was, you said “It must be somewhere!” and kept repeating that until you found it. When you were pretending to talk on the phone, you put the phone down and said “I can’t talk anymore. My battery is dead.” You make up songs for Jack when he is fussy and mommy hopes sometime she’ll get one on video. Someone recently said that you are already witty and I think they are absolutely right.

You LOVE to change clothes at least 1.2 million times per day. Your favorite outfits are your new skinny jeans, your bling-bling converse, your collection of tutus, and your purple dress. Flower Dress is still occasionally in the rotation, but you have moved on for the most part.

You love spending time with your Grandparents. Cookie and Dandy spoil you rotten and you love every minute of it. You get so excited when it’s time to go stay with Noni, and when you leave you are never sad. In fact, if I say I’ll miss you, you comfort me and say “It’s ok, mom, I’ll always come home.” Melt my heart!

You love to swim. When I say you swim like a fish, you say “No, mommy, a mermaid!” I think we are going to enjoy the pool for many years to come.

You are such a good big sister. You sit with Jack and play with him a lot these days. You are constantly entertaining him and he thinks the world of you!

You are a very picky eater, but so was I, so my mom says I’m just getting payback. I bet if you have a daughter, she will be picky too. You love cereal, chicken nuggets, and fruit. You are open to trying new things more than ever, so maybe you will expand on what you love soon.

You love your daddy so much and I love listening to you two interact. When he walks in the door, he gets a “Daddy’s home” scream and hugs and kisses that I know melt his heart. You are his princess and he always comments how wonderful you are and how much God blessed us with you.

We are so thankful for our sweet baby girl. We pray for you every day, that you will grow up to know the Lord and walk in His ways. We hope that you will always know how much you are loved and how special and perfect you are to us.

Happy Half-Birthday, Chlo-Bo. You are all my favorites.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    August 29, 2010 9:26 pm

    Love the new blog and the perfect post to describe Chloe!

  2. mimi permalink
    August 30, 2010 12:10 am

    our little redhead is so sweet and beautiful. can’t help but love her

  3. August 31, 2010 12:46 pm

    I have read your blog for a while now, so apparently I have not checked it in quite some time because I had to go back and read several months worth! Anyways, I saw your pictures with MG and Juli and was sooo surprised. I worked for James when I was in college at HPU. He was my boss in the alumni office and I used to babysit MG once a week for him and Angie. Are they your nieces?

    • September 2, 2010 8:33 pm

      Hey! Yes, Angie is my sister. What a small world! When they lived in Brownwood I was in college and made many trips to visit them. HPU football, Underwoods… fun times! I’ll tell them you’re a fellow blogger :-)

I love comments!

