Skip to content

Fall. It doesn’t feel like it’s on its way.

September 2, 2010
tags:

But it is!! Even though the hot weather is still around and we are happily enjoying pool time most days, the start of September always gets me looking forward to the fall. There is just so much to be excited about!

1. Cooler weather. Ok so there are usually about three to five days in Dallas of actual fall weather. You know, the kind where you need a light jacket all day and can sit outside in the evenings without sweating or freezing to death? Yeah, it’s hard for me to remember the feeling too, but I am sooo ready for them!

2. Pumpkin Spice Lattes at Starbucks. I haven’t had one yet and they’ve been out since Sunday. I plan on going in the morning before heading to the Greens. I’m keeping their two younger ones every other Friday. Two 2 year olds and two newborns- I think I deserve a grande! Actually, I’m having fun keeping them- it gives my kids someone to play with and I get some extra $$, and so far it has been pleasant. After blogging that, I’m sure tomorrow I’ll have all four of them crying at once. But I’ll have my grande venti Pumpkin Spice latte so it’s all good.

3. Football. Right now the Cowboy game is on and it just gets me so ready for the real thing. I actually hate preseason games (hence the reason I’m blogging instead of paying attention). I think they are silly- the starters don’t give it their all or they might get put on the IR, so we really don’t get to see any real proof that they’ll be any good this year. What’s the point? I’m also ready for college football which starts this week! The Aggies are due for a decent record, and according to my husband, this could be the year. We play some no-name team this weekend, so I’m at least hoping to be 1-0 come Saturday night. If you know me well, you know I’ll have on ESPN both Saturday and Sunday mornings this fall. College Gameday and NFL Countdown, oh how I’ve missed you. I love me some football.

4. The fall decorations at Hobby Lobby. I think they’ve been out since April, but I refuse to look in that direction until September. Heck, the Christmas ones are out too for that matter, and I haven’t even looked at the fall stuff! That drives me crazy. Since I have a new house to decorate, I’ll be looking for some good finds. Hopefully at 50% off. We got my last paycheck in August, so our budget…. well let’s just say while it is TOTALLY worth it, I may only get to by one, single, solitary fall napkin ring for my seasonal decorating fix this year. And, it will need to be on the clearance rack. But, it will be fun pulling out all of my fall decorations and see where they’ll look good in this house. And maybe finding a good deal at HL. You never know.

Ok, your turn! What gets you excited about fall?! Can’t wait to hear!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 8:59 am

    I agree, September should mean fall, but sadly in Texas it does not. That didn’t stop me from putting all of my fall decorations out last week though in hopes that it would turn chilly soon!

  2. September 3, 2010 9:30 am

    I love Fall too but like you said it is so short lived around here! I don’t like it too cold. Maybe we will be able to enjoy it more since we will be at home and not in classroom all day :) I love playing outside and going for walks in the fall. The fall makes me think of all those decorations at HL too and how nice they would look in my house but I will just imagine it and say “that would look good here” because with the new budget we will not be buying any fall decorations :) I am ready for college football and hopefully the Aggies will do better, you never know with them (don’t tell Trey).

I love comments!

