Skip to content

On a recent trip to Toys R Us

October 27, 2010

We went in for this.

And came home with this, too.

Don’t you just love my new family room decor? In case you’re not aware, it’s a mini George St. Pierre, a UFC fighter. Am I the only one who has a husband totally into this sport? He’s met both BJ Penn and Dan Henderson and been to two UFC Championship fights. I think it’s a little barbaric, but I know most of their names and try to ask who won last night’s fight to show an interest in something my man loves. I don’t stay up for the fights and I don’t spend hours watching SPIKE or reading mmajunkie.com, but I do show some interest for Trey’s sake. I am thankful his extracurricular activities include his UFC obsession and his Playstation gaming, both of which take place at home for the most part. He’s not the husband that will “go out with the guys”, and you won’t spot him at a happy hour, so if he wants to spend guy time watching fights or playing PS3 late at night, I’m all for it! Plus, it gives me the opportunity to do my thing too. Right now it’s reading. I’m halfway through The Hunger Games and I think I might DIE if I don’t finish it tonight. It’s gonna be a late one!

It also gives me time to dig deep into Isaiah, the book we’re studying at BSF. GOD is changing my LIFE through this book. Oh my word. I love Isaiah. I love the promise of Christ that he foretells. One of this week’s passages was Isaiah 9- hello verse 6- “For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” I’ve read that verse a million times but this time I was asked to write what each of those names mean to me. Holy cow, aren’t we blessed that in Jesus we have all of these things? A Wonderful Counselor to help us when we need direction, a Mighty God who conquers all, an Everlasting Father who will be around when all else fades, and a Prince of Peace to take away all of our fears and sadness. Can I get an AMEN? Our teaching leader is amazing too and I look so forward to each Tuesday morning when I get to hear what God has to say through her.

So, back to our trip to the toy store. We also went to walk the aisles and get an idea of what we wanted to get the kids for Christmas. Chloe has seen lots of stuff on tv or at previous trips to the store, so her list is long. When I ask her what she wants from Santa, the list usually goes something like this: a princess house (for her little princesses), a princess cupcake maker (praise the Lord they are fake cupcakes), a Jessie doll (from Toy Story), a Barbie car, a pink kitchen, and the list goes on… seriously?? She is 2 1/2! We are definitely narrowing it down to 2-3 items and can use the rest for ideas from family or for her birthday (3 is just around the corner!).

I’d say it was a productive trip, even with the new decor purchased for my family room. I taught Chloe to call him Jorge (pronounced hor-hay) which is hilarious. And Jorge loves to play Barbies. I’m not sure that’s what Trey intended when he purchased him, but Chloe is loving her new friend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    November 3, 2010 8:16 am

    I just finished the 2nd book in the Hunger Game series! It was almost as good as the first! I think I might run out today and get the 3rd. I am hooked!

I love comments!

