Skip to content

A wedding, a birthday party, and a new year

January 2, 2011

We had a great New Year’s weekend! Trey’s dad came in town so we could have our final Christmas celebration. Chloe asked Santa for one thing- a Barbie car she  could drive. Santa brought her a kitchen instead, but Pops and Bebe surprised her with a pink Jeep! Her reaction was priceless and we spent the better part of the {cold} weekend in the driveway. Saying she loves it is an understatement. I know this will be one of her favorite things for many years. I’m just ready for it to get a litle warmer so I don’t freeze my tail off watching her go for a ride.

Chelsi, Jenn’s younger sister, got married on NYE, so we rang in the new year dancing and celebrating with Jenn’s family. The wedding was GORGEOUS, and Jenn and her sisters and mom did most of the planning. It was at the Filter Building on White Rock Lake- a great venue for a New Year’s wedding. We were so glad to be a part of such a beautiful, Christ-centered ceremony and a dance-til-midnight and ring-in-the-new-year reception. Jenn had made a comment back in October that she was ready to plan a party. It wasn’t a week later and Chelsi and Brant were engaged and Jenn’s house became “wedding central”. She did an amazing job and I now have confidence that Chloe’s wedding will be just as beautiful because I’ll have her to help! PRAISE THE LORD that is a LONG time away, although I know Chelsi’s parents thought the same thing 20 years ago! Congrats to the new Mr. and Mrs. Ross who are honeymooning in Colorado as we speak. Ahhh, a vacation in the mountains with my man? Yes, I’d say I’m just a tad bit envious. Here we are about to head to the wedding (notice anything different?).

Last night we got to celebrate with Jenn’s family again. Richard threw Jenn a fabulous 30th birthday party at Mattito’s! All the BOB dip and fajitas you want- and cake from none other than Society B- it can’t get much better than that! I am so thankful for our best friends and I am happy the youngest of the four of us is joining the Thirty-Something Club in just a few short days.  Happy birthday, sweet friend!

I have made the executive decision that 2011 doesn’t start until Monday, so that means I have 13 more hours to eat what I want, drink a real Coke, and not worry that my Christmas decorations are still out. But come 7am tomorrow, this girl is making some changes. I’ve gotta get back to working out and eating better and my house has to get back in order.

I better go enjoy my last few hours of 2010. 2011, I’ll see you real soon!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 5:36 pm

    Sounds like you guys had a great time! Love the dark hair.

  2. January 2, 2011 8:00 pm

    I’m totally with you on starting resolutions tomorrow. The beginning of a fresh week feels like the perfect time to start. And who can make major life-altering changes (like I need to do)on a weekend? Not me! P.S. Love your hair!

  3. Eve Farris permalink
    January 3, 2011 10:01 am

    Sherry! I love your hair!

I love comments!

