Skip to content

My {only} Uncle Skeeter

April 8, 2011

Cecil Eugene Tucker, Jr. (or Skeeter, as we all knew him) went to be with the Lord on Tuesday, March 22nd. His passing was unexpected, but we are rejoicing in the truth that my uncle was a follower of Christ.  Because of his walk with the Lord, I am confident that he is heaven worshipping our Father. We long for him here, but he does not long for us, because he is with his Savior!

Because my dad is an only child and Skeeter was my mom’s one sibling, I lost my only uncle. He was a great one, too. He has four daughters, and I’m one of three girls, so between the seven girl cousins we have tons of memories together. He always called us “boys” and taught us to be tough. He was a hard-working, family loving man- he loved his wife and his four girls with everything in him. The last years of his life were completely dedicated to the cause of Christ- working in ministries, witnessing to strangers, and constantly talking about Jesus.

A few weeks ago, I called him at his auto mechanic shop to see if he and his family would be joining us for mom’s retirement party. I said, “Hey Uncle Skeeter, it’s Sherry Clemens.” I don’t call the shop often, if ever, so I wanted to make sure he knew who was calling. Then I told him all about mom’s party and asked if they’d be coming. He said yes, and we went on and on and talked for a good ten minutes about this and that.

The next weekend, I saw him at mom’s party. My aunt came up to me and said she had to tell me something. The day I called the shop, Skeeter came home and said, “Debra, do we know a Sherry Lemons?” Ha! So we talked that whole time and he didn’t know it was me! If you knew him, that story would make you smile. I am so thankful that I was able to see him at mom’s retirement party. It had been a while before that since we had spent time him and his family, so it will always be a special memory to me sitting and eating dinner with my uncle.

Please pray for peace and understanding for our family. In my BSF study last week, these verses in Isaiah 55 touched my heart, as they have many times before. These verses give me the assurance that He knows best and His plan is perfect, and we are not always going to understand His ways. The Lord used my uncle to accomplish His purposes, and one day we will all join them in heaven and rejoice together. I can’t wait to see you again, Uncle Skeeter!

8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
   neither are your ways my ways,”
            declares the LORD.
9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
   so are my ways higher than your ways
   and my thoughts than your thoughts.

 10 As the rain and the snow
   come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
   without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
   so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
   It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
   and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2011 4:29 pm

    That is funny Sherry Lemons! I will be praying for your family.

  2. Eve permalink
    April 8, 2011 7:13 pm

    Sherry, I was so sad to hear about your uncle!

I love comments!

