Skip to content

Weekending

April 30, 2011

First off, the Alabama stories are killing me. Seriously. What in the world? The pictures, videos, and blogging about it bring me to tears. I religiously read three blogs of gals that live near the areas that were hit the hardest. Thankfully they are all ok, but they know many who are not. I just can’t imagine what it would be like to lose everything. Ugh.

On a much lighter note, the WEDDING. OMGoodness. It was so perfect. I caught myself tearing up throughout the entire event. My favorite parts were the dress (of course) and when he whispered to her “you look beautiful”. *sigh* Just so sweet! I truly hope they love each other and I just pray that they live out the kind of marriage that the bishop talked about in his address, which by the was very well written. This was my favorite part:

“Marriage should transform, as husband and wife make one another their work of art. It is possible to transform as long as we do not harbour ambitions to reform our partner. There must be no coercion if the Spirit is to flow; each must give the other space and freedom…As the reality of God has faded from so many lives in the West, there has been a corresponding inflation of expectations that personal relations alone will supply meaning and happiness in life. This is to load our partner with too great a burden. We are all incomplete: we all need the love which is secure, rather than oppressive, we need mutual forgiveness, to thrive.”-The Right Rev. Richard Chartres, the bishop of London

I case you missed it, you can read the entire sermon here. The wedding was a fairytale playing out in real life, and I am so glad I got up to watch it. However, I did need another POT of coffee around 8am so I could make it through the day! I had set everything out the night before- coffee was programmed, muffins were ready to make, etc. Here’s a note from T that I found when I woke up at 4am. Do you see the cursive writing? So sweet. I love my prince.

We have a lot going on this weekend. Yesterday we started off our weekend with a bang…by staying in and eating cereal for dinner. Whoohoo. But that’s what you do when you have sick kids {again}. Seriously? Anyway, we did venture out for a treat because this Mama needed to get out of the house in a BIG way. Then I spent the remainder of the evening ordering swimsuits online.  Thanks for your suggestions of Athleta and JCrew. I spent $500 in one sitting. Clearly I won’t be keeping them all, but just hoping for one or two that will work. We leave for the beach in just a few weeks!

I also ordered Jack’s big boy car seat last night on Amazon. Ouch. It’s getting real that he’s about to be one. I’m excited for it to come in- I know he’s ready to sit up and see the world. Although with the new recommendations, I’m thinking he’ll stay facing backwards. He has to for a while anyway because he’s not 20 pounds yet.

 

Speaking of Jack, this little guy is getting close to walking! He hasn’t taken any steps by himself yet, but he’s getting better at standing and walking with our help. I know one day he’ll just take off and I’ll be chasing him even more than I do now.

Today after workouts for both of us we’ve got to get busy. We need to make a trip to REI for some beach chairs, and lots of other errands, too. With Mother’s day next weekend, then Jack’s party and vacation coming up, I’m feeling the stress of getting everything done.

Tonight Trey’s dad is coming in for the all-important UFC fight. St. Pierre is fighting and T is like a little ball of nerves today. It is so funny how much he and his dad get into this. I will definitely stay up and watch. It is better seeing it live so that I can talk with Trey about it rather than him wanting to talk about it anyway and I have no idea what he’s talking about. And I’m not gonna lie… GSP is, well, easy on the eyes. Bonus!

Hope y’all have a great Saturday.

I love comments!

