Skip to content

Jack’s Flapjack Party

June 17, 2011

We rescheduled the big party for last weekend and it was a success. We had a smaller crowd than normal, but that ended up being great because it was just relaxed and super easy (although we missed you if you couldn’t come!). We really got a chance to visit and the kids had tons of fun playing.

The flapjack theme was thought up because on his actual birthday we had his plus two other parties to go to. I wanted to do something in the morning, so a breakfast-themed party was in order! Our house was easily transitioned into “Jack’s Original Flapjack House”. I invested in a few key pieces hoping this will be an annual tradition for our Jack!

I made the front door sign and the chalkboard menu using chalkboard paint and my favorite Chalk Ink markers. We had a coffee bar set up with lots of yummy coffees and creamers. I found the mugs at Goodwill and after a deep cleaning, I personalized them with Sharpie Paint Markers.

I had so much fun with this theme! I found the paper placemats online at Retroplanet.com and laminated them for future use. The small red frames came from Michael’s dollar section, and with a little red spray paint and some chalkboard paper, they became cute labels for the food. The kid’s activity was to make cereal necklaces. It was a hit!

Here’s the birthday boy! It took him a while to warm up to the idea, but eventually he loved his cupcake.

The picture in the middle is when we were singing to Jack. He had a death grip on his high chair and didn’t let go for a while!

I made the cupcakes using this recipe and the toppers and banner with scrapbook paper and my Cricut. The cupcake holders came from none other than Christmas Tree Shops. I was unsure of how many guests would want a cupcake that early in the morning, so I bought cupcake boxes so they could take one {or two} home.

All in all, it was a great party and I am glad we finally got to officially celebrate our little man’s big day. I honestly can’t believe he’s already one. This is such a cliché to say, but it seems like yesterday when we were meeting him for the first time. Happy birthday, sweet boy! Looking forward to all that comes with you being one- walking, talking, and tons of fun!

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 4:21 pm

    Cute party!! You did an awesome job but you always do :) I am sad that we could not make it.

  2. June 20, 2011 3:26 pm

    What a cute party; it all turned out so fun!!!

  3. December 28, 2011 9:21 am

    Sherry! I remembered this and want to do this exact thing for my J’s birthday next month!!! I wanted to know about invitations – did you find/do anything particularly thematic for those? Thanks!! SO Cute!!!

    • January 1, 2012 9:16 pm

      Hey Ashley! I got our friend Keith to do the invitations. I will send you the file through e-mail so you can see them! How fun. I cannot believe your Jack will be ONE already!!! And YAY for baby #3!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. 2011: A year in review. « Crazy Blessed
  2. Thursday List. « Crazy Blessed
  3. It’s birthday week for Jack! « Crazy Blessed

I love comments!

