Skip to content

Hope, not wishful thinking.

July 25, 2011

Source: shopruche.com via Sherry on Pinterest

 

Lately I’ve found myself in the midst of fear. I know terrible stories of tragedy have always surrounded us, but for some reason these recent stories have stirred up in me a bigger case of sadness and fear. The firefighter dad who fell and died at the Rangers game, all while his young son was watching. Or the recent shooting at the skating rink where a man not only took his own life, but FIVE of his family members’ lives. And he did it in front of his 11-year-old son at his birthday party. How in the world is that kid ever going to be normal? Then I read stories on blogs of kids with terminal illnesses and tragic car accidents where both parents die and leave orphans behind. I’ve watched my friends and family go through things that are just unexplainable.

Enter fear. Clearly from Satan, but sometimes I can’t seem to shake it. What if I die? Would Trey and the kids make it without me? Or what if I am widowed? How would I provide for my kids? How would I fill the aching void I would have for Trey? Or what if God calls one of my two most precious gifts home? In the last few weeks, I have constantly been mulling over these questions.

Enter HOPE. Our sermon title yesterday. Of course, it came at the perfect time. You can watch it here. It is so worth the thirty minutes.

I have heard the word a million times.  But yesterday I really learned what we as believers in Christ have been given. Hope. Hope that is not just “wishful thinking” but a true hope {he called it confident expectations} in God that He will do what He says He will do. That no matter what happens, we have hope that one day we will be free from the fears of this world. That when something happens to Trey or me or my kids or my parents or my family or my friends… I have hope only He can give.

And hope in Christ trumps fear any day.

Source: raisinghopeonline.net via Sherry on Pinterest

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    July 25, 2011 9:07 am

    Great reminder! Needed a tear warning before that post though!

  2. July 25, 2011 4:09 pm

    Sherry, I’ve been reading alot in the last three years looking for a better understanding of the hope that Jesus gives. I watched the sermon, and no offense to Watermark or the pastor, but I’ve listened to many sermons like this one and they all left me grasping in frustration for what exactly I’m suppose to hope in…what is it exactly that God has promised to do? There is one book that I would highly recommend that compliments the sermon, but fills in the critical missing pieces. It is called Surprised by Hope by NT Wright.

    http://www.amazon.com/Surprised-Hope-Rethinking-Resurrection-Mission/dp/0061551821

    I pray that you are encouraged by God’s promises through the times of fear and doubt.

    Chris

    • July 26, 2011 10:13 am

      Hey Chris! Thanks for your thoughtful comment. I am anxious to look into the book you recommended. I am now writing Hope, part 2 to share my two cents on your question. It is so true- we need to be reminded of what God has promised to do!

  3. July 25, 2011 8:04 pm

    I am right there with you and will let fear just creep in. This post was a great reminder!

  4. July 26, 2011 6:51 am

    thank you for that reminder! i have been overwhelmed lately with all of the sadness that seems to be everywhere lately. i am a born worrier, but it is so much worse when you have kids~

I love comments!

