Skip to content

Hope, part 2.

July 26, 2011

After reading yesterday’s post on hope, a thoughtful reader asked great questions: What exactly am I suppose to hope in? What is it exactly that God has promised to do?

I am NO theologian. But if I know anything about God’s Word, I know it is full of promise after promise.

You see for me, hope in Christ is not complicated. From the hymn Solid Rock, it says “My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness”. For me, that means that my hope is found in Christ- what Christ did (died on the cross to save me) and what he will do (he will win!!!). The entire Bible is full of promises of what he will do. Anytime I need to be reminded of His present promises I turn to Psalms. He will lead me beside still waters. He is with me always. He will keep me safe. My times are in His hands. And 1,000 more just like this.

And, from the first word to the last, the Bible is one big promise that I can hope in! That promise is that this world is not my home and that one day every knee shall bow and we will be with Him in a perfect place. When I need to be reminded of what God has promised for my future, I read Revelation 21. That glorious day when he will make everything new- THAT is what we have hope in! We don’t have to live in fear of the things of this world because they will pass away.  “He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” Rev 21:4. My hope is in that day!!

Source: stumbleupon.com via Sherry on Pinterest

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    July 26, 2011 11:56 am

    Amen! His grace is enough for me! Everything else is just the cherry on top!

I love comments!

