Skip to content

Weekend Update

August 22, 2011

Here’s an overview of our weekend:

Eat. Run. Anxiety Attack.

It was a great weekend! Can’t you tell?

Eat. OH MY WORD. New favorite restaurant alert! Neighborhood Services on Lovers is To. Die. For. Loved it. Coolest atmosphere. Amazing food. It is definitely a little pricey, so it is more for a date night/special celebration. We went with friends to celebrate our birthdays (T’s is Thursday). I ordered the Sea Scallops with Manchego Cheese Grits. Whoa Nelly. And Trey’s steak? Perfection. Just go there as soon as you can.

Run. We are training for the White Rock Half Marathon. I haven’t divulged this information because, well, I’m a little scared to put it out there. It seems like now I have to follow through since all five of you will totally judge me if I don’t do it. Right? Well, even though I’ve already committed to it and the training is going great, I just can’t believe I’m actually going to run thirteen point one miles. At one time. The most I’ve ever run is a 10K and that was back when I was {eh-hem} TWENTY THREE YEARS OLD. A lot has changed since then, my friends. Anyway, we are in our 3rd week of training. Our longer run day is Sunday, so I had to get up at the crack of dawn after I just stuffed myself the night before with things like meatballs and cheesy grits and chorizo and frites and scallops. Let me tell you, that run felt grreaaat. Lesson learned. Need to eat lighter meal the night before a long run.

Anxiety Attack. So, I called around last week and found a studio close to our house for Chloe to start taking a dance class. They had open registration yesterday afternoon. I signed her up for Creative Movement – they will work on gross motor skills- jumping, rolling, etc.; It’s a perfect fit for Chloe. After picking out her black leotard, pink tights, and ballet shoes, I walked out with one excited little girl! As we drove away from the studio, I had a complete anxiety attack. In that one instant I went from being a mom of two babies to a SOCCER {or dance} MOM. Y’all, I freaked out. My mind started racing about how this is just the beginning of toting them around to this class and that practice and driving through McDonald’s for dinner because we have to be at the next thing in five minutes and what in the world?????!!! Our Tuesdays this fall are so packed that we will definitely be eating in the car for all three meals. Oh, I kid. But seriously, it is going to be crazy. I’m hoping we’re at the perfect level of commitment, but we will see.

The minute we got home, she tried on her dance outfit for daddy. Oh my word, y’all. Is she not Miss Cuteness??? Love this girl!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 11:47 am

    I am training for a half marathon too! You are one up on me because the most I had ever run is a 5K but I am determined! Good luck!

    • August 22, 2011 1:31 pm

      Oh yay! Someone to hold me accountable :) good luck!!

      • August 23, 2011 8:45 am

        Did Bret sign up? We just officially signed up. We are on week 3 of the Jeff Galloway schedule. So, we will run 5 miles on Saturday. I think we are going to run some at White Rock when they get longer. We’d love for B to join us for sure!!

  2. August 22, 2011 12:42 pm

    i want to take a bite out of her. since i’ll never get to tote a little girl to dance class (i’ll be too busy sweating at soccer/tball/football games. ugh.) keep the pictures coming!

    p.s. i’ll be checking out neighborhood services as soon as possible. thankyouverymuch!

  3. August 22, 2011 7:48 pm

    Bret was wondering how the training was going! Love the picture. I want to put Molly in some sort of dance class too. Keep me posted how it goes.

  4. August 22, 2011 10:04 pm

    hi! listen, i had to comment because we were at gymnastics for a sweet forever tonight and we brought those yummy taquitos with…for in between the regular class and the tumbling class….we’ve done *fill in one of twelve different extra-c’s here* and have never ever resorted to mickey d’s. shudder! i have full faith that you won’t ever have to either. =)

    • August 23, 2011 8:42 am

      Ha! Yes, I am {hopefully} kidding about McDonald’s. I haven’t eaten their food in years. YUCK! So glad you brought the yummy taquitos- great idea!

  5. Angie (in San Angelo) permalink
    August 31, 2011 12:14 pm

    Hey girl, don’t fall out of your chair, but I am planning on doing a 1/2 marathon too. :0) Scott and I will be doing our first 5k on October 1, 2011! We are SO excited about it!!! I can’t wait to hear how things are going for you two. I have a TON of weight to lose, but I’ve already made some progress there. ;-)

    Love you! Angie

    • September 1, 2011 7:44 am

      Angie!! That is just awesome!! So proud of you. Running has been so hard but so good too! Can’t wait to hear how the 5K goes!!!

  6. Angie permalink
    September 2, 2011 2:23 pm

    Thank you so much! I’m still in the process of learning to enjoy it. ;0) But, it is a start, and that’s what matters. I’ll be doing the Princess 1/2 marathon at Disney World in 2013! That’s the BIG goal that I’m working on…I have so many wonderful memories there with my mom! I figure it will be a great run to do in memory of her. I hope you’ll post about yalls race too!!!

I love comments!

