Skip to content

Project Organization: I’m sick of all the bags.

October 3, 2011

Ok moms. I need some help. I am going nuts! As of this moment, here is what is hanging on our “bag hooks” in the laundry room.

20111002-081915.jpg

The bags {in no particular order} we have:

  • Chloe’s Dance Bag
  • Chloe’s School Bag
  • Chloe’s Lunch Bag
  • Jack’s School Bag
  • Jack’s Lunch Bag
  • Jack’s Church Diaper Bag
  • My “nicer” diaper bag for going out
  • My purse
  • My work bag

Y’all. Is this normal???? I feel like I spend HOURS of my day putting stuff in and taking stuff out of bags. Their school requires those big, honkin’ blue bags. Then I like to have Chloe’s dance stuff in one place so I can always find it. And I feel like I need the other bags for other outings, etc. Any suggestions? Or is this just the way life is right now? I just need some affirmation if it is, because it is DRIVING ME BATTY.

I was thinking maybe I could get rid of Jack’s church bag, diaper bag, and nicer diaper bag and buy him one small backpack for all of that. He really only needs a few things when we go places other than school- diapers, wipes, change of clothes and sippy cup. But then I’d be carrying his backpack and my purse everywhere I go. Is that what I want??

Oh, I just know there is a simpler solution. I can’t wait to hear what y’all do!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2011 7:46 am

    I just carry a bigger-than-normal purse, with a separate pocket for baby stuff–a small box of wipes, 1-2 diapers and a nursing cover. Then I keep a bigger diaper bag with all the *other* stuff in the van. But, still, we have tons of bags around, too: backpacks for each kid, a piano bag and a martial arts bag for my daughter, a library bag, laptop bags for Jeff and I. I think it’s kind of normal, but who am I to comment on “normal?!”

    • October 3, 2011 3:05 pm

      Thanks so much, Mandi! I like the idea of the other stuff in the car, that way I’m not lugging around the things I don’t need all the time. I’m also glad to hear that there are just a lot of bags around when you have kids! I guess I need to just be ok with all of the bags!

  2. October 3, 2011 3:04 pm

    I have a school bag and a backpack for each kid. I switch off between diaper bag, large purse, or a small purse depending on where we are headed. I have my wallet, lipgloss pouch and phone that move easily between the bag I am carrying. My hooks look just as crazy though!!!

  3. October 4, 2011 9:59 pm

    I think it is just that season of life where there are bags everywhere :) I have lots of bags too and it drives me crazy as well.

I love comments!

