Skip to content

Patience.

October 18, 2011

20111017-084132.jpg

I’ve been letting Chloe “cook” with me a lot lately. Here she is enjoying our latest homemade pizza {with milk in our fancy glasses}.

Chloe LOVES to cook- she likes to scoop, measure, and pour, and she can crack an egg like a pro! I’ve found, though, that for whatever reason, I get impatient and short with her while we are cooking together. I guess I’m expecting her to not make a mistake, which is pure craziness considering she is three years old. I always start out with great intentions of it being a fun time for us, but I find that I have to really watch myself or I just take over and start doing it all myself so it will be done right and there won’t be a big mess to clean up.

How terrible, I know. Just keepin’ it real. I mean look at that picture above? How could I ever be impatient with that sweet girl?? But, moms, we all know it happens despite our best intentions!

A woman who is in my Bible study class made a comment a few weeks ago that her mom was a perfectionist in the kitchen, and because of that, she didn’t learn to cook until after she was married. I’m assuming that meant her mom never let her “help” because kids mess up and she wanted it to be perfect.

My mom always let me help around the kitchen, and I don’t remember her being impatient with me. I know that in that yellow-turned-blue kitchen in my favorite white-turned-blue house on East Harris is where I developed my love for cooking and baking. This is because of my mom, who happens to be the best cook in the world! My dad deserves a shout out too, because I have countless memories of him letting me “help” him with making the homemade waffles and syrup we had for breakfast almost every morning.

What my friend in Bible study said really resonated with me- it made me see that my impatience with Chloe in the kitchen could ultimately affect her cooking abilities {among other things}. So, I’ve been determined to be more easy-going and fun {think kindness, goodness, self-control} during our cooking adventures, and I can see it’s already paying off. It isn’t easy for me to let her make a mess, but I know that by letting go I’m helping her learn.

I’ll never forget the first time I really let her cook with me. It was Thanksgiving Day 2009.

I love that mess.

I love that girl.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Galatians 5:22

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 5:54 pm

    I totally understand! Molly always wants to help cook and I just want to do it myself to keep it not so messy but I need to remember to be patient with her and let her learn.

I love comments!

