Skip to content

Half Marathon Training Update

October 20, 2011

Well, we’re still at it, and only 6 weeks to go until the big day! But, between now and December 4th, we still have to run 10, 11, and 12 miles! Yikes!

For my last big run, I ran 9.5 miles with a friend from the gym, Christina. We ran at White Rock lake, which was a first for me. It was so great! I’m sure it was the combo of running with someone {as opposed to by myself which is usually the case} and the beautiful scenery, but those 9.5 miles went by so fast! But, boy did my legs KILL when we stopped running. It is crazy how you don’t feel it until you stop, and then your legs are like “what did you do to me??!”

Here we are after 9.5 miles!

20111019-105010.jpg

All in all, I am really loving training for the half. My short, 30 minute runs during the week are stress-relieving, and I’m proud of myself after I finish the long ones. We’ll see where I go after I finish the half, but a *small* part of me is thinking of running a full in the spring. We. Will. See. Don’t hold me to it, because like I said, it is a very small part of me that wants to do it. The rest of me is saying “No way!”

I am so thankful for our experienced “runner” friends {the Dempseys} that have helped us along the way. They told me about this water bottle, this stuff to eat before we run, and these jelly beans to eat during a long run. We’re learning a lot about what we like and don’t like so that hopefully we’ll have the perfect combination come race day~ 45 days and counting!

I’m running at White Rock again on Sunday, but this time I am fo sho going to stop after my run at Good 2 Go Taco {it will be my first time!} and reward myself with one definitely two breakfast tacos! I can hardly wait!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 8:09 am

    congrats to you! what an accomplishment. reward yourself with and egg, potato, bacon taco. and you have to try the paris, texas simply because it was on food network. oh, and because it is delicious.

    • October 25, 2011 1:25 pm

      Oh girl! I loved Good 2 Go. Potato+Bacon= AMAZING. I will be visiting after every long run! Thanks for the recommendation!!

I love comments!

