Skip to content

Four years of awesomesauce.

November 10, 2011

Aggieland.

I. Love. This. Place. I took this picture from our seats at the Mizzou game, but looking at it now brings back so many amazing memories from A&M. I don’t know the number of times I sat stood in that student section {I only missed one home game in all four years there}, but I am so thankful for those memories. I won’t try to explain my entire college experience in one blog post, but I will say it was definitely one of the best times of my life.

When we were there last week, I ran into Amber, my college roommate, who lives in CS with her husband and three girls.

It was so fun to see her and her kids {and her sweet sisters,too!} and it reminded me so much of game days when we were roommates. Here are a few things that I loved about my college experience {in chronological order}

  1. My potluck roommate, Nicole. She was & is such an amazing person. We had THE BEST time in Spence Hall that year. Oh, and she had a garage spot. I totally scored on that one.
  2. Living on the Quad. Taking advice from my sister who lived on the quad her first two years there was the best thing I did. I am so glad I woke up to the band practicing and the corps marching. LOVED it.
  3. Meeting Amber {above} who lived down the hall from me that year. She is one of my favorite people in the whole world. We can not talk for weeks, then pick up right where we left off. She also introduced me to Mikalah, who along with Amber would become one of my 3 closest friends that I made in Aggieland.
  4. Nebraska game, freshman year. Hands down my favorite sporting event ever. I went with a friend in the corps so I had a great spot on the first deck of the student section. As a freshman, that never happens. We BTHO Nebraska who was ranked No 2 in the nation. It was awesomesauce.
  5. My church. Oh my word. I really believe that my walk with the Lord became real to me in college at CBC. I learned so much there through their freshman Upstream Bible study, a girl’s Bible study on “Lady in Waiting” {thanks, Mandi!}, and so much more. It was there one Sunday morning that I met this beautiful lady who is one of my dearest friends.
  6. Going to Garcia’s for fajitas every Friday with my sister. I am SO thankful she was a 5th year senior my freshman year. I couldn’t have survived without Amy there with me. Don’t you miss those days, sis?
  7. Breakaway, a Tuesday night worship and Bible study led by some amazing people. At one point I thought I was supposed to marry Ross King. Anyone with me on that one? Ha.
  8. Bonfire 1998. The last one ever.
  9. Sugar Bowl 1998. New Years Eve in New Orleans? Yes, thankyouverymuch. And camping out for those tickets in the freezing cold? Totally worth it.
  10. Decorating my new apartment with Nicole for our sophomore year. And all of the memories we made in that little place. I have tons of pictures to prove our fun that year.
  11. Bonfire 1999. Nicki and I woke up at 4 am to the news that it had fallen. We were worried about our friends for a few hours before we realized everyone we knew was ok, but that 12 Aggies had lost their lives. That was such a hard day.
  12. Meeting TREY. Holy cow, I had no idea that he would end up being my husband. I am so thankful we had years to grow our friendship before dating, and I cannot imagine my college story without him in it.
  13. Impact. It’s a camp for incoming freshman. It is near and dear to my heart. I was a counselor the first year of Impact, then a co-chair my junior year. It was such an amazing ministry to be a part of.
  14. Sara Street. I moved in with Amber and Mikalah my junior year, and we had such a great time in that duplex. I remember that is the year I started running. I bet my 20-year-old self would be shocked that my 31-year-old self is running a half marathon in 4 weeks.
  15. Aggie Baseball games= so fun. Aggie Baseball games instead of class = awesomesauce.
  16. ESPN College Game Day in Aggieland. So fun to see those Saturday guys inside Kyle Field. We lost that game to OU. So annoying but still so much fun.
  17. Studying with Rachel and Simone, my good friends from our Community Health group {yes, that was my major in college.} We camped out in the MSC and memorized over 200 muscles and their origin, insertion, and action. And I totally use information today. NOT.
  18. Eating. CS had some great food. Wings N More, Freebirds, Garcia’s, Rudy’s, Layne’s. And now it is crazy because they have a Rosa’s and a Chuy’s. My freshman 15 {pounds} would have been 30 if those two had been there when I was in school.
  19. Senior year football season with a boyfriend named Trey. Loved getting to go to the home games together.
  20. Walking on campus. Century Tree, Systems building, Academic building, Spence park, and so much more. It is a beautiful campus. Until you got pooped on by the stupid birds.
  21. Getting engaged. It was a scavenger hunt that started with my professor calling my name out in front of 200 students to see him after class. Oh my word I was so stressed out and I had no idea what was coming.
  22. Living with a bunch of different girls my senior year- within that year I lived with Amber, Julie, September, Megan, Jami, and Lindsey. Not all at the same time, PTL. But that house was such a great place to live that year.
  23. Late night talks with Amber in the room we shared our senior year. We were both dating our future husbands and it was so fun to share that time together! Oh, and the phone would ring 100 times every morning because she was subbing some for the local school district. Good thing I’m a morning person or we may not have remained friends after that. ;)
  24. Taking my bridal portraits at the Systems Building on campus. Such a fun day with my parents and friends!
  25. Graduation. I was so sad and so happy that my time in CS was over. I had so much to look forward to. I had already moved to Dallas and we got married two months later. But, I knew that my four years were over and it was time for “the real world”. I seriously would go back and do it all over again if I could!

Being back in Aggieland recently was such a blessing. We didn’t get to eat at our favorite places or see many friends, but just being there and getting that feeling of “The Spirit of Aggieland” was so great. I know that sounds cheesy, but if you’re an Aggie, you totally understand.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2011 11:17 am

    Always fun to hear about other people’s college experiences…we all had some fun times, didn’t we? Would love to visit Aggieland – might happen now that they’re in the SEC :-) Adam and I are heading to Athens this weekend for an away game…Texas road trip, maybe??!

    • November 15, 2011 3:28 pm

      Oh Yay! Y’all must come to Aggieland when we play Auburn at home. That would be such a fun weekend! I’ve already told Krista that we’re for sure going the first time y’all play in CS. Would love to have y’all join us!

  2. amber permalink
    November 10, 2011 10:29 pm

    I still feel bad about those early morning phone calls! Thanks for still being my friend through it all! Love you!

    • November 15, 2011 3:28 pm

      You know I love you! And I totally didn’t mind those phone calls!! It was just part of all the fun ;)

  3. November 11, 2011 10:37 pm

    I miss that place so much!!!! Girl it was the best time of my life!

    • November 15, 2011 3:29 pm

      If only we had known each other there…. now THAT would have been fun!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Update « Crazy Blessed
  2. 2011: A year in review. « Crazy Blessed

I love comments!

