Skip to content

I’m Dreaming of a White…

December 1, 2011
tags:

Dip called Creamy Jalapeno, chips, and a real coke. {But I wouldn’t mind a White Christmas, too!}

I know this doesn’t surprise you. Y’all know how much I love Tex-Mex food, right? We seriously go to Chuy’s waaaay too often {but we are doing much better than in the past- it used to be at least once a week!}.

I remember taking this pic of Chloe at 18 months…20111130-070257.jpg

And here’s Jack last weekend {also at 18 months}…20111130-070227.jpg

I’m so proud!! My kids LOVE Mexican food! I’m not sure if it’s because I ate it all the time when pregnant or if it’s because they are forced to like it since we eat it all the time now or maybe all kids like tortillas?? All I can say that when we say we’re going to Chuy’s {or the other occasional Tex-Mex restaurant} Chloe jumps up and down, claps, and goes to get her shoes on as fast as possible. And, I have a feeling it won’t be long until Jack is doing the same. Just like their mama!

P.S.- Not long after I met Krista {who BTW has a new blog!!!!} she called a flour tortilla a tortilla shell.  Texans just say “tortilla” when talking about a flour tortilla. Do all you southerners call it a tortilla shell?? Because the only thing we call a shell when related to Mexican food is that hard, folded corn tortilla that you get when you order a hard taco from Taco Bell- we call that a taco shell. There are a few other things we’ve discovered over the years that are different too… like in Texas gravy is served with Chicken Strips {in the South it is honey mustard which I think is so weird!}, she calls queso “cheese dip”, she had never heard the word kolache, and sweet tea is served everywhere there and not many places here. {And I’m fine with that- I like only unsweetened tea. It’s a miracle that we’re friends! ;)}Anyway, just so funny how growing up a few states away can make you say things like “tortilla shell”. I’ll never let her live that one down!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Auntie Amy permalink
    December 2, 2011 2:03 pm

    I had to teach my Mississippi family (Allen’s fam) that you NEVER EVER heat a flour tortilla in the microwave. It RUINS it. It’s just as fast on a hot skillet–10 secs on each side is perfect.

I love comments!

