Skip to content

We had a merry little Christmas.

December 30, 2011

Hey y’all! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas! We sure did…I didn’t really mean to take this long to blog about it but we’ve been busy. Trey was off for 11 days and we have had a wonderful time having him all to ourselves.

Before Christmas, we had our annual Christmas dinner with our best friends. We put the kids to bed at their house and then started cooking! It was such a great idea. Jenn blogged about it here. Oh my word the food. Y’all. It was definitely one of our best meals shared ever. And we’ve shared a lot of meals, peeps. Thanks, R&J for a super fun night! Can’t wait until next year!

Thursday the 22nd we drove to San Angelo to spend time with my family before Christmas. We made memories wrapping presents in the travel trailer, finishing a jigsaw puzzle in record time, eating mom’s famous Chicken Fried Steak, and fighting over who gets to eat the last piece of The Best Cake Ever {recipe coming soon} for breakfast! With six cousins running around there is never a dull moment! I love that my kids have so many cousins to make memories with just like I did when I was a kid! Highlights include:

Pink TOMS

Sully Lovin’

LOTS of Cousin Time {pictured with my grandmother}

And, my favorite thing. Coffee every morning {and evening} with these two amazing people {married almost 39 years!}. Love my parents. Bunches.

We spent Christmas Eve with Noni and Poppi! We ate yummy food, visited with them and Mimi, and the kids had a ton of fun opening lots and lots of presents.

Then Christmas morning came and Santa was good to all of us.

Chloe didn’t move from her Barbie house all day and Jack played along too, stopping every now and then to shoot a basket or throw his football!

As for me, I’m calling this the Christmas of the Boots because I got not one, but two pair of boots under the tree. And then there were the best treats ever in my stocking- including Anthropologie goods and a little something from Tory Burch, yessirreee! I love that my husband always does better than me on gift giving {I try, I promise!!}, although this year takes the all-time award for sure!

We spent Christmas day just the four of us. We stayed in our pajamas, played, ate, played, rested, and just really enjoyed the day together. Our menu included Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls, Cheese Blitz Casserole, and Sausage Balls for brunch and a Bobby Flay Mesa Grill Filet, Cilantro Pesto Mashed Potatoes, and Homemade Corn Muffins for Dinner. Yum!

Trey’s dad came in at the end of the week and brought the kids their first bikes! They are both so excited about learning how to ride them. We’ve been out riding every day since! We enjoyed spending time with Pops and can’t wait to see him again.

Christmas 2011- One of my favorites. My kids will only be this age once and I am so glad we were able to really enjoy every minute!

No comments yet

I love comments!

