Skip to content

Reading List 2012

January 9, 2012

I read a few really great books in 2011. The Hunger Games Trilogy and Sarah’s Key were my favorites of the year. I am counting the days until the Hunger Games movie comes out in March, and our next RedBox rental will be Sarah’s Key! I love it when I’ve read the book before I see the movie. We went to see The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and now I’m so sad I didn’t read the book {like T did}. The movie was incredible {and btw very graphic} and now I am excited to read the second and third books of that trilogy.

I’m deciding 2012 will be a year of more books. Not In grad school, not preggers, not giving every spare moment to a newborn, and I’m not working {full-time}… none of the excuses I’ve used before seem to be holding up!

So, here’s my goal. 12 books. Not a lot, I know, but more than I’ve read in a year in a long time- maybe ever. I feel like I can commit to one per month and still keep up with my Bible reading and my other hobbies {blogging}.

I’m keeping track on Goodreads. Have you heard of it? I hadn’t but now I am so happy to have all of my read/to-read books listed in one place!

So, alas, here are a few of the books on my 2012 reading list! Have you read any of these? Thoughts? Books I need to add to the list? I’d love to hear your suggestions/must-reads for 2012!

20120109-211507.jpg

20120109-211531.jpg

20120109-211538.jpg

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Charise permalink
    January 9, 2012 11:00 pm

    I read “night” in 9th grade and loved it. It’s a really good Holocaust book!! I’ve also read “The Best of Me”. I got it for Christmas and read it in about 4 days. It was so good yet so heartbreaking!!!

    • January 9, 2012 11:29 pm

      Thanks, Charise! My sister teaches high school English and they read Night- after visiting the Holocaust museum in DC I want to know more!

  2. January 9, 2012 11:12 pm

    Have you read Donald Miller’s “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years”? I highly recommend it. It’s one of those books I just keep going back to.

  3. January 10, 2012 8:52 am

    I’ve read The Glass Castle and Unbroken. Both are really great! I’ve heard good things about Sarah’s Key and want to read that myself sometime soon. I need to make a reading list for this year. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • January 11, 2012 11:11 am

      I’m about halfway through The Glass Castle- amazing. I am just floored by her childhood experiences… it’s like I knew that there were parents out there like that but this just makes it so real. You won’t regret Sarah’s Key! But, it has made me very interested in reading more historical fiction about the Holocaust. Let me know how you like it!

  4. January 10, 2012 9:14 am

    I read “The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes”, “Unbroken” and “The Paris Wife” last year and they were all really good. I rented “Sarah’s Key” over the Christmas break and while it was good, it was not nearly as good as the book. And Scott was confused in a lot of it because he hadn’t read the book so I had to keep explaining things to him because it seemed like they kindof left stuff out.

    • January 11, 2012 11:12 am

      Oh I’m so glad to hear that you’ve read a few on my list and that you liked them! I heard Sarah’s Key movie wasn’t that great from someone else, too. Maybe I’ll save it for a night when Trey is out of town!

  5. marshall permalink
    January 10, 2012 9:59 am

    You should pick up “The Hole in our Gospel”.
    http://www.theholeinourgospel.com/

    • January 11, 2012 11:13 am

      I’ll add it to the list! Thanks Marshall. I’m ready for some great reading at the BEACH. HOLLA!

  6. Charise permalink
    January 10, 2012 11:04 pm

    I also recommend “What Women Fear” and “I Will Carry You”. Both by Angie Smith.

    • January 11, 2012 11:14 am

      Oh I’ve heard Angie Smith’s books are great- I know lots of people that read her blog. Thanks!!

  7. Brooke Doughtie permalink
    January 11, 2012 3:57 pm

    I loved The Glass Castle and Crazy Love! I’ll have to try out the other books! Thanks!

I love comments!