Skip to content

I’m going bananas.

January 29, 2012
tags:

Eight days without a computer. Y’all.

I never knew how dependent I was on that thing until it died. I am going crazy! While the iPad is a good stand in for so many things, it is just not the same! We ordered our computer and I am checking the status every hour to see if it has shipped. As of 6:42am this morning it is still processing. Lord have mercy.

I’m supposed to be at spin right now but my alarm didn’t go off. So, instead I spent the morning in the Word over some fabulous Christmas blend coffee {got it last week at Target for 50% off}. The Lord is constantly reminding me of my purpose here- to share with others the Truth. I want you each to know the one and only way to heaven. Please make time to watch this message, and if you don’t know Him personally, I would love to talk with you. Also, if you live in the Dallas area, may I recommend a church? This place is huge and you can feel totally lost at first {we sure did!}, but we have found our new church home. It is definitely not what I expected from a huge church- we have found a small group, a place to serve, and always come away from the experiences there with a greater desire to love and serve Him every day.

I finished my first book of 2012! I chose The Glass Castle because it had been on my reading list for a few years. It is a beautiful memoir written by Jeannette Walls that made me feel a full range of emotions. It really opened my eyes to the way so many parents chose what is best for them over basic needs of their children.

“Why spend the afternoon making a meal that will be gone in an hour,” she’d ask us, “when in the same amount of time, I can do a painting that will last forever?”
― Jeannette Walls, The Glass Castle

And how the words we say can impact a child forever.

“No one expected you to amount to much,” she told me. “Lori was the smart one, Maureen the pretty one, and Brian the brave one. You never had much going for you except that you always worked hard.” ― Jeannette Walls, The Glass Castle

I’m sure you would love this book as much as I did! Now I’m reading Nicholas Sparks- definitely needed this easy read after the last few emotionally draining books I’ve read. It better not be one of his sad ones {remember, he did write The Notebook! *tear*}

And I’ll leave you with a picture of my sweeties. Love them so.

20120131-071016.jpg

Happy Tuesday!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 8:39 am

    i loved that book. it’ll break your heart. i have an amazon giftcard just sitting in my wallet. i will use your reading list as inspiration for my future purchases!

  2. January 31, 2012 11:02 am

    Which Nicholas Sparks are you reading right now? And where did you get Jack’s shirt? It is too cute!

    • February 1, 2012 8:15 am

      His new one- The Best of Me. If you have read it, please tell me it’s not sad. :)

      • February 1, 2012 9:37 am

        I haven’t read that one yet so I can’t help you with this one, but I have read a lot of them.

  3. February 2, 2012 10:24 pm

    Fellow Watermarker here!

    • February 3, 2012 11:11 am

      Hi Kacie! Thanks for stopping by! So exited to “meet” a fellow Watermarker! Maybe we’ll actually meet someday :)

I love comments!

