Skip to content

I love blogs.

February 10, 2012
Source: aprilandmaystudio.blogspot.com via Sherry on Pinterest

 

Right now my Google Reader has 84 subscriptions.

{By the way, if you don’t know about Google Reader, here’s the deal. It is a free service where I keep up with all of the blogs I read. I “subscribe” to the blogs from my Reader account, then they constantly check those sites for new posts. The main page looks a lot like e-mail, so instead of clicking to every single blog you read, you just go to Google Reader and they are all there for you! Then you can click on the post and go to the blog if you want to read more, leave a comment, etc. It is just a nice way to organize blogs you like to read!}

Anyway, I was confessing that I read 84 blogs on a daily basis. Now, first off, many of those blogs don’t post daily, and some haven’t posted in months. I’d say about 40-50 of those blogs post at least a few times a week. That still leaves me lots of posts to read!

I am terrible about commenting on blogs, but I have decided that if I take the time to read it, and I have something to say in response, I need to send a comment. I love comments and I know if you blog, you do to!

So, this is where you come in. I know you’re here because I see you in my stats, but I haven’t heard from some of you in a while, or ever! Today is the day to say hi!

Will you comment below telling me about how many blogs you read and/or a favorite blog or two? Not that I need any more blogs to read, but I am always adding to the list!!  Can’t wait to hear from you!

38 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2012 8:04 am

    amen, sister. i am not sure how many blogs are in my reader, but if i had to guess, it would be approximately a billion. i do have a dilemma that you may be able to help me with~ how do i unsubscribe from a blog? there are a few i subscribed to back in the day that just don’t float my boat anymore. i have tried to delete them in the ‘manage my subscriptions’ setting but they keep. showing. up.

    p.s. i will never delete yours :)

    • February 10, 2012 8:29 am

      Girl, I am constantly changing up my subscriptions. In Google Reader, if you click on the arrow beside the name of the blog on the left side, you’ll get a drop down menu and one of them says “unsubscribe”. But, if you followed them through Blogger, you can’t do it that way. To know which ones you did that way, scroll down to the bottom left of your Google Reader Page and you’ll see those listed under “Blogs I’m Following”. But to unsubscribe to those, you have to go blogger.com into your blogger account dashboard, scroll down to see “Blogs I’m Following” then Manage, then click on settings next to the blog you don’t want to follow anymore. Those are the only two ways I subscribe to blogs, but I know that there are other readers out there. Whew! That was probably super confusing! Hope I help a little!

      And BTW, your blog is on my forever list too :)

      • February 10, 2012 10:44 am

        oh my word, a weight has been lifted. thank you!

    • February 10, 2012 8:30 am

      And, on the billion subscriptions…made me laugh out loud! I hear you! I love me some blogs.

  2. February 10, 2012 9:34 am

    I’m here! I don’t even know the number of blogs I have in my Google Reader, but I know if I go more than 24 hours without reading, it gets near 100 unread!

    • February 10, 2012 9:37 am

      Oh, I know! I get stressed when by unread number gets high! I usually try and have them read before I go to bed, because I can’t stand having multiple days of posts to catch up on! Thanks for commenting!

  3. February 10, 2012 10:00 am

    Why did you have to ask this? I just counted and I have 160 in there. I think I need an intervention!

    • February 10, 2012 10:03 am

      Oh my word!!! You might win with 160!! I need you to share a few of your favorites, because it sounds like you are a blog expert, for sure!! Thanks for commenting {as always, I appreciate it!!}

  4. Marshall permalink
    February 10, 2012 10:14 am

    I’m probably not in your league of blog reader, I only read 5, one of which is yours, one of which is Livada’s, and the one I highly recommentd is Justin Taylor’s: http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/justintaylor/
    He’s an old John Piper, Desiring God ministry backbone guy.

    • February 10, 2012 10:20 am

      I am so glad I have made it on your blog roll. I will definitely add Justin Taylor’s. Thanks for sharing! Hope y’all have a good weekend and I am going over to iPic right now to check and see if Hunger Game tickets are available yet! Cannot wait.

  5. February 10, 2012 10:25 am

    I need to get going on google reader! I read about 20 blogs. You already read (as is evidenced by your sidebar) many of my favorites, but you might also like the lettered cottage…SO many great decorating ideas! http://theletteredcottage.net/ Have a great day!

    • February 10, 2012 11:09 am

      I love the lettered cottage! I need to add them to my list on my blog. I haven’t been following them for very long, but you are right, they have the best ideas!! Thanks for the comment!

  6. Kim Bateman permalink
    February 10, 2012 10:56 am

    I only read 21-15, so that keeps me busy (with work and school added in). I found a few of my favorites through your blog, so I can’t wait to comb through your comments and see if I can find a few more. I’ll have to set up Google Reader to make things a little easier on me!

    • February 10, 2012 11:10 am

      You will love Google Reader! It makes things so much easier, and actually allows me to read more blogs, as if I need to! Ha.

  7. Lisa Williams permalink
    February 10, 2012 11:06 am

    I love blogs too! Haha short comment Hattie just woke up.

    • February 10, 2012 11:11 am

      Come on, Hattie! Don’t you know that your mom needs to read a few more blogs before you wake up?! ;)

  8. February 10, 2012 12:37 pm

    There are 38 blogs that I follow, most of them personal friends or family, so I can keep up with what’s going on with people I know. And most of them don’t update every day or even every week. I don’t actively seek out new blogs to read because it’s so easy for my time to just get away from me. And, I love having a way to only check in on blogs that I know have a new post through my reading list on my Blogger dashboard. And, I’m with you: I love to get comments on my blog and have recently decided to comment on other blogs rather than just lurking around. If I read it and have some response to it, the blogger needs to know.

    • February 10, 2012 3:54 pm

      Thanks Mandi! Yours is on my list and I love, love hearing stories of your family! I hear you on the time… I usually read blogs at night when I should be going to bed, or I’ll read them while T and I are watching TV, but then I’ll miss something important on the show and he gets bugged because I ask him lots of questions! ;)

  9. February 10, 2012 1:39 pm

    I am here! You know my story though. I only read a select few blogs, but I was totally guilty of clicking on each one. Thank you for saving me. What is the app to read them on your phone???

    • February 10, 2012 3:55 pm

      Byline is the app. I have the free version and the ads don’t bother me at all. The full version is $5.99. No way am I paying that for an app!

  10. Alicia permalink
    February 10, 2012 1:53 pm

    Hi Sherry! I think I have about 50.
    A Blonde Ambition-fashion
    The Stir by Cafemom
    IHeart Organizing
    The Small Things Blog-great hair blog

    Can’t wait to see ur bedroom post!!

    • February 10, 2012 3:57 pm

      Hi Alicia! I LOVE A Blonde Ambition!! She is such a cutie. I have a friend who loves I heart organizing so I will have to take a look at that one and the others you listed for sure!! Great to hear from you!!

      Oh, girl. The sconces are coming Tuesday and I am so ready to be done!!! Hopefully within the next week or two, depending on when I get T and a friend to install the sconces! YAY!

  11. February 10, 2012 3:47 pm

    Oh girl.

    GIRL.

    364.

    See why I know the j/k trick?

    • February 10, 2012 3:58 pm

      O.M.G.

      EMILY!!!

      THIS is why you are the top 5% of AT&T!!!!

      364?!?! I am in awe. LOVE YOU for this.

  12. February 10, 2012 9:27 pm

    Hey Girl! I only read about 20 friends’ blogs regularly. I love reading yours because your voice comes through and makes me think of Texas! I miss y’all!

    • February 11, 2012 9:15 am

      Hey Nikki! Miss you too!! Work is just not the same :)

      I am so glad you are blogging about your new life! You know the week after we moved to our current house we spent 14K on sewer problems, too :( AND, I was 9 months pregnant with Jack. It was a mess. So sorry you had to deal with that right after moving!!!!

  13. February 10, 2012 11:18 pm

    Hi there! Maybe 40-ish, but they do not post daily.

    • February 12, 2012 10:27 pm

      Hi Cathi! Thanks for commenting and reading the blog!

  14. February 11, 2012 11:39 pm

    Hi Sherry, I’m Laura from Denison, Texas and you have just made my day. I thought I was bad about reading blogs. I have a list of 64 that I read regularly and I keep adding to the list. It is such a relief to know that I am not the only one obsessed with reading blogs. I have several favorites and two of them are Kelly’s Korner and Pioneer woman cooks. I usually read yours on the weekend and I love it too. Thanks, Laura

    • February 12, 2012 8:23 pm

      Hi Laura! Thanks for reading! I love Kelly’s Corner and PW as well! I just made PW’s spicy beef with cheese grits tonight- sooooo good!Thanks for commenting; so fun to hear from you!

  15. February 12, 2012 3:11 pm

    I LOVE BLOGS TO NICE TO FIND SOMEONE ELSE THAT DOES.

  16. Erin permalink
    February 12, 2012 9:58 pm

    Thanks for the tip about google reader! I read about 35 blogs and check yours often! Beautiful kids :)

    • February 12, 2012 10:24 pm

      Hi Erin, thank you! Glad I could help, I definitely couldn’t keep up with my blog reading any other way! Thanks for stopping by!

  17. Jessica permalink
    February 12, 2012 10:53 pm

    You know I LOVE your blog and I always tell people about what a great little writer you are! And it makes me feel like I am still “caught up” on your life even though we don’t see each other that much. :( If you hadn’t started me on google reader, I probably wouldn’t read that many at all. One day when we do hang out I would love for you to show me how to make my blog cuter. It’s just the same boring thing that I started with. I do have a new blog I just started reading called Mama Laughlin. She has a potty mouth but she’s hysterical! I posted one of her posts on my FB recently. Okay, longest comment ever! Sorry!

  18. February 13, 2012 4:53 pm

    I have about 60+ in my Reader. Life w/o Reader? A nightmare! Adam introduced me years ago…made my life glorious! He has about 200 in his Reader, so I’m an amateur. And, I am guilty of not commenting as well – Adam gets sad when he writes a blog and no one comments. I told him “no one goes to blogs anymore and comments!!!” Calm down, buddy.

    • February 13, 2012 8:39 pm

      So funny that he gets a little sad. Reminds me of the time I did my first giveaway and the next day I still didn’t have a single comment… come to find out, for whatever reason they didn’t get e-mailed to me and I had like 10 sitting in moderation! I was a little bummed until I realized I actually had some comments!!

  19. February 14, 2012 10:28 pm

    I’m a pretty new follower, but I read!

    • February 15, 2012 8:15 am

      Hi Kacie! Thanks for reading! Maybe we’ll run into each other at Watermark sometime!

I love comments!

