Skip to content

Heavy heart.

March 3, 2012

Four Years Ago today, a special little girl met our Savior.

I think about that day often, not just today. But all of the emotions come rushing back more this week. And when those thoughts come to mind, it hurts. I remember every detail when Trey told me about Lilly; how he carefully had to decide how to tell me that our best friends’ daughter was gone. What do you do in that moment? And, my family was already going through a major crisis at the time. And we had a five-day-old baby. It was just. so. hard. I couldn’t bear the thought of my best friend having to go through this.

I honestly can’t believe it has been four years. Jennifer wrote a beautiful post remembering and celebrating sweet Lilly who is now among “the land of the living”. Jenn and Richard have relied on the Lord through it all and I learn from them every day. They truly live out 2 Corinthians 12:9-10- “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

One of the things I love most about Jennifer is how open she is about everything.We talk about Lilly often. She shares what God has taught her and Richard through all of this. Since losing Lilly, she has helped so many others who have lost a child. She is strong, y’all, and I know her strength comes from the Lord. Trey and I are so thankful that God brought us Jennifer and Richard to “do” life with. We can’t imagine them not in our lives or in our kids’ lives.

Sweet Lilly, we miss you. Every day.

And as much as it hurts that you are not here, we can rejoice that we will see those beautiful blue eyes again someday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2012 12:25 pm

    How beautiful! What a great best friend you are to Jennifer!

  2. March 3, 2012 3:11 pm

    thank you sweet friend! i love you!

I love comments!

