Skip to content

I have no title for the last three days.

March 8, 2012

Tuesday. Four year check up for Chloe and weight check for Jack. By the time we left I was a basket case. Here are a few of the low points. Chloe- three shots, drawing blood, finger prick, and finding out she probably needs her tonsils out. We go to the ENT on Monday. Jack- gained some, but not enough weight {right at the 5th percentile} so we are still trying things to get him to gain three pounds before his birthday. Also, the doctor detected a heart murmur that he had never heard before. He said it was nothing, but this mama can’t let that rest so we have a cardiologist appointment at Children’s in two weeks. I know I am probably overreacting {I am a Moore girl so I come by it honestly}, but for my peace of mind I want a heart expert to tell us everything is a-ok.

Wednesday. We find out we have some foundation and pool problems. We are not sure of the extent yet but we are stressing that this is going to be a big expense. And if you remember, we already spent 10K in plumbing on this house. I know we bought an old house but we feel like we’ve been dealing with something every moment since we moved. I guess that is the way it goes, but it is still frustrating.

Wednesday Night.  The City of Dallas blocked off a lane of our entire street because of some big water issue. Our water was out from 3pm to 10pm {and remember, we have a house guest!}. Just an inconvenience that isn’t a big deal in itself, but….

Thursday Morning. We wake up to water, but not hot water. Our hot water heater busted. Probably from the water coming back on after the city finished. The plumber came out and the hot water heater and all of the surroundings are not up to code {which is typical considering nothing in this house is code yet it passed inspection, twice. Way to go, City of Dallas. You are so good at your job.} so the first estimate to replace it and all of the other junk to get it to code is $1577. Praise the Lord that we had a play date here this morning with a new friend whose mom and dad just happen to own rental properties and have a plumber they trust that will probably do it for around $700. We are hoping that option works out because we really don’t want to spend $1600 on hot water!!

So, blogging has been out the window for good reasons! So has laundry, dish washing, cooking, etc for the next day or two until we get it fixed. Then we’ll move on to the foundation and pool issues. Hooray!

Source: Uploaded by user via Sherry on Pinterest

So, if you think about it, say a little prayer for the Clemens’ household. And for my nerves. They are shot. And pray that Jack’s heart murmur is no big deal. I can’t help but worry a little.

And also pray that I will get to take a shower sometime in the next 48 hours. I worked out this morning without knowing there would be no hot water around here. Yuck!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2012 3:17 pm

    Bless your heart!! Praying that these problems resolve soon for you and your little family, that is a lot to take in during one week! On a side note, my son Jaxon that is now 3, dropped into the 5th percentile around 3 months and didn’t make it back out until around 2 1/2, then jumped to 40! He is totally healthy, I think those boys just have so much energy that their metabolism runs a mile a minute. I’m sure he will start putting on some pounds soon :)

    • March 11, 2012 1:52 pm

      Thanks, Brittany, for the encouragement! It is nice to know someone else who has been through this…and to know there is hope that he will not be in the 5th percentile forever!

  2. March 8, 2012 8:01 pm

    oh my gosh! and all at once! both my girls have heart murmurs, and in both cases, seeing the heart on that sonogram screen and listening to the pediatric cardiologist tell me that everything was fine and functioning normally made a world of difference. since your ped is not concerned, i expect you’ll have the same kind of results and you can look back at the sheet as many times as you need to look at it to remind yourself that everything is okay with your little guy. hoping for a calmer upcoming week for you guys!

    • March 11, 2012 1:53 pm

      Thanks, Liz! I appreciate you telling me about your girls! It makes me feel better knowing I’m not the only one!! :)

  3. March 8, 2012 9:39 pm

    Oh MY GOSH Sherry!! What a horrible week! I am praying! Keep us posted.

  4. Michelle permalink
    March 10, 2012 9:53 am

    Wow, that is crazy! Oh the joys of home ownership. I think you all deserve a vacation!

  5. Jessica permalink
    March 10, 2012 10:31 pm

    I’m so sorry all this happened! And in one week! I did say a prayer for you all and I hope things get better soon. Especially hoping your babies stay healthy!

I love comments!

