Skip to content

Meeting PW.

April 17, 2012

Saturday was a favorite day.

Jenn, Chloe and I arrived at Sam’s Club at 8:15 am to claim our number and spot in line to meet The Pioneer Woman. She was in Dallas on her cookbook tour. I brought Chloe so she could get a number for Krista to save her from having to drive to Dallas twice. Our original plan was going to be to get a number early, then stroll in around 11:30 and wait in line for 30 minutes and be out of there in time to grab a fun lunch. NOT so much.

We get our numbered bracelets early that morning, but then the Sam’s manager tells us that the number doesn’t mean anything and that when we come back, we have to get in line wherever the line is. The bracelet only guaranteed us a spot in line. So, we decide to meet at 11 to stand in line.

Well, after FOUR hours of standing, three bathroom breaks, lots of girl talk, running into a friend, Jenn hearing from husband that they have a hot water heater leak, me coaching T over the phone on how to get the curlers out of Chloe’s hair for her dance pictures, sore feet, oh and three pretzels, two diet cokes and a coke {which ended up being our “fun” lunch}, here we are.

This was our proud moment with PW. We were all nervous {ha!} and therefore acted like complete thirteen year olds meeting Justin Bieber. I told the guy taking pictures with my camera to just hold down the button so we could get a few shots {I had it set on multiple exposures}. Well, after smiling for what seems like forever, we realize he isn’t letting up at all and he has already taken like 200 pictures. This is my “you are so dumb, why would you continue to hold it down forever” look.

I’m so confused as to why he’s still holding down the button. Then there’s Jenn still keeping the perfect smile and then Krista’s body. Thank you for cutting off my friend’s head. For real?

Here I’m telling him that I meant that he should hold it down for a few seconds, not the ENTIRE time we’re talking to her.

Good thing K leaned down because this is my favorite picture.

We all got to laughing so hard; it was such a fun moment!

Here she’s thinking, “Next in line, please!”

I couldn’t leave until I asked her about her Dr. Pepper Pulled Pork. Do her kids really eat it with a whole can of chipotle peppers?? There is absolutely no way, right? Because 1/4 can is about all T and I can take, and we like spicy! She says the key to getting it less spicy for the kids is to drain it really well before serving it to them. She also said that every can of chipolte peppers is different in heat. Who knew?

All in all, it was worth the four-hour wait. She was definitely the same as she seems on her blog and cooking show. What a fun day!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2012 5:11 pm

    It was a great day and a special memory for sure! Thanks for including me!

  2. April 17, 2012 9:49 pm

    How fun! The whole camera fiasco is very funny!

  3. AmyD permalink
    April 18, 2012 8:27 am

    hahahhah love this!

  4. April 18, 2012 4:05 pm

    Oh my gosh, Sherry, this had me laughing out loud! Sounds like a fun day, except for that whole waiting for 4 hours part. :)

I love comments!

