Skip to content

Weekend Update {Warrior Dash Edition}

April 23, 2012

Happy Monday, y’all! We had such a great weekend! Trey’s dad left Friday morning so that night we stayed in and I cooked a new yummy pasta recipe. It was nice to spend some quality time just the four of us, but we have really loved having Pops around.

Saturday night my friend Kristin {everyone calls her KK} and her husband Clay came over for a “sleepover”! I have known KK her whole life- my parents and her parents were best friends when we were growing up. She’s like another sister! She and her husband moved from San Angelo to Dallas right after we moved from Forney, and it has been so fun having them so close! They even go to our church, so over the last two years my kids have really bonded with them. We knew we needed a babysitter for Sunday’s race and after exhausting our go-to list of family members and babysitters, KK and Clay were nice enough to come spend the night. We cooked sliders, sweet potato fries, and PW’s Black Eyed Pea Dip. YUM.

Then Sunday morning came and we met Trey’s Boot Camp friends at the gym before heading to Roanoke, TX for the Warrior Dash. Trey has Boot Camp four days a week, so on his off days I go to Power Play {the gym that has the boot camp} for early morning classes. Melanie {Trey’s trainer} teaches one of the classes and a few other Boot Campers are in my classes, so we’ve all become like family! Here are the ladies before the race.

20120422-151754.jpg

Ruth {far left}, Christina {my running partner for the half marathon last year, wearing the turquoise bandana}, and Melanie {the brunette in the middle showing off her muscles!} have made working out consistently something that I actually enjoy and even look forward to! Melanie is an incredible trainer. She knows so much and has just been such a blessing to me and Trey. These girls convinced me to do the Warrior Dash and I am so glad I did!

20120422-152119.jpg

That’s a before & after! The race was a 5K. You started out running, then there would be an obstacle, then more running. There were probably 10 obstacles in all, everything from climbing a wall using a rope, to rolling over a long line of cargo nets, to jumping over fire, to crossing a chest-deep, FREEZING COLD river. Those things are generally not my “thing” for sure and I was really nervous at the start line! But, instead of trying to compete with his boot camp buddies, my sweet husband stayed with me the whole way and was a huge help at a few of the obstacles!

20120422-152221.jpg

I am so proud of myself for stepping out of my comfort zone! I have scrapes and bruises galore, and I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck this morning! But, it was something I’ll never forget and I will definitely do it again next year! Who’s with me??

Here are our times so I know what I have to beat in 2013. We got 489 and 490 out of 5,000+ runners that competed on Saturday.

I was 25th out of 848 girls in my age range. My friend Christina was 5th in our division and Melanie, our trainer, got FIRST in her division! Overall the Power Play girls brought it!

We went to the Sunday night service at church and I taught in the children’s classes. Our friend Fernando came with us and went with Trey to “big church”. He’s visited church with us twice now, and I just know God is working on his heart. This story has been on my heart to share on the blog, so I can’t wait to tell you more.

Trey’s dad got in last night for his last week in Big D. We have had such a great time with him being here and the kids have really bonded with him. It’s going to be hard to see him go on Thursday. After getting the kids to bed, T and I went to see a late movie, taking one last advantage of having a live-in babysitter. We saw The Lucky One {the only Nicholas Sparks book I haven’t read}. It was very cheesy and sweet and romantic and predictable. All the things I love in a movie! T took one for the team because though he likes chick flicks, this one was a little much!

Whew! That was a fun weekend, but I need a nap today. Seriously.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie Stone permalink
    April 23, 2012 7:49 am

    Sherry, I am so proud of you!!! We had so much fun yesterday. And I too feel like a truck hit me. I think a nap today is an exceent idea :)

    • April 23, 2012 9:39 am

      Thanks, Melanie! It was so much fun! You know it’s because of you that I was in good enough shape to do it! We’re both so thankful for you!

I love comments!

