Skip to content

Happy 2nd Birthday, Jack!

May 14, 2012
tags: ,

Oh, Jack! You are TWO today! Where has the time gone? I remember I found out I was pregnant with you on Friday, September 11, 2009. Your daddy was in LA for work and I couldn’t wait to tell him, so I called him at 6am {which was 4am in California!}. I was in the Starbucks drive through getting a Pumpkin Spice Latte, which by the way would be my last drink of coffee for 9 months because I hated it during pregnancy! Anyway, your daddy was so excited and couldn’t wait to come home. We all went to Tillman’s to celebrate that night after he got back in town.

Then I remember finding out you were a boy. It was Christmas Eve 2009 and we had our sonogram a few days before and had the technician write it in a card. We put Chloe to bed, then sat on the couch and opened up the card, and it said BOY! You should have seen your daddy- he was SO excited saying “yes, yes, YES!!!” I’m so glad you were a boy, too, because we both thought it would be so fun to have one of each!

Then there was the day you were born. May 14, 2010 at 10:01 am. When your sweet blonde head peeked over the curtain, I was instantly and completely in love. I remember just praising God in that moment for blessing me with you. And then they said your weight- NINE pounds even, JUST like your sister! You came out screaming and I wasn’t sure you would ever stop {it took us two rounds of feeding and us all getting settled in our room before you calmed down!}. Now those sweet newborn hospital days seem like ages ago. We brought you home to our new house in Dallas and our little family of four was complete!

Well, it’s TWO years later and I can’t remember life without you. You have brought our family so much joy! Your sister adores you and takes care of you in so many ways. You are each others’ best friend, for sure! Your daddy loves having a boy. You are always playing ball, getting dirty, or carrying around a car or train, and it makes him so happy to have someone to do boy stuff with. And, you know your mommy loves you! Your sweet kisses and “I wove you” make my heart melt. Oh, and the curls. I can’t stand it- you are just so cute.

We pray that you grow up to be a man who puts God first. We pray you lead and serve your wife, love and serve your children, and grow to be a man who seeks God for wisdom in the good times and the bad. But, we also pray that this time of your childhood would go slow so that we can soak in every minute of your innocence.

We love you, Jackie, and can’t wait for all that is ahead in the coming year. Happy Birthday, sweet baby boy!

No comments yet

I love comments!

